But this doesn't

(code in entry_mc)
    onClipEvent (load) {
    loadMovie("entry.swf", this);

}

any idea why?

chup

Senile member! :)
    I'm no expert on loadMovie so I can't really say. But here's another aproach you could try:

this.loadMovie("entry.swf");

/Mirandir

The second one doesn't work, because 'this' doesn't mean anything in this context. With a loadMovie, the first part is the name of the clip to load, the second is the name of the clip to load it into, and it needs "" around it.

So what sld i do if i realli wanna load the movie use a clip event?

chup

Banned
    this.loadMovie("entry.swf");
    loadMovie("entry.swf", this);

Both of the above work, if you put them in a keyframe in the movie clip itself, and not as an "onClipEvent" of that movie clip.

So am i correct to say that no matter what, putting on the onClipevent won;t work?

chup

No. If you add an empty movie clip to the stage, you can load a movie clip into it with an onClipEvent (enterFrame). Get the attachment, it's for MX, and just make sure you have entry.swf in the same folder you save it to.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Banned
    Iaskwhy...

The only reason why it's working, is because you're using loadMovieNum - which you shouldn't, it should be only loadMovie when loading in an holder clip! -, and what in fact is happening is that your loading "entry.swf" on _level0, thus replacing your main movie with the new loaded movie.

oldnewbie, That's what I thought, but.....

I have a folder here with the main movie, a target clip, and a load-into-the-target-movie-from-the-folder clip that proves it works. I know, I know, it ain't supposed to work, and it's driving me nuts too. So check the attachment out. Both swf's and both fla's are in the zipper. Tell me WTF is happening.

I have put it on my server, check it out.

http://64.21.153.144/noob.htm