A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: need quick MX help with _framesloaded command

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    8

    (resolved) need quick MX help with _framesloaded command

    Anybody know what is wrong with this script? It keeps hanging up at frame 20 when I test it. I am trying to preload a series of buried images...one at a time before my main timeline proceeds in my early navigation section. In short...when each buried image is loaded in the timeline, a button will light up at frame 22 and go on down the playing timeline and repeat the process for the next image.

    note: the "n-aerial" is a frame label

    ***Frame 20:***

    if (_framesloaded ("n-aerial")) {
    gotoAndPlay(22);
    }
    nextFrame();

    ***Frame 21:***

    prevFrame();

    ***Frame 22:***

    play

    am I not using the framesloaded command properly?

    thanks for your help in advance-
    Syn-
    Last edited by Syndessol; 11-05-2002 at 06:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551

    Re: need quick MX help with _framesloaded command

    Originally posted by Syndessol
    am I not using the framesloaded command properly?
    No, I don't think you are - I think it should be _root._framesloaded().

    Also - check the spelling on your frame label vs. the framesloaded method.
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    8
    I've actually tried it that way, but doesn't see to help...and besides...do you need to specify the _root if you remain in the main timeline...?

    Basically I'm trying to be able to jump around in the main timeline with the "goto" command while loading images in the background and activating the available button navigation one button at a time with the _framesloaded command as the images load up one by one...

    am I making sense or is everyone confused now?

  4. #4
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by Syndessol
    [B]I've actually tried it that way, but doesn't see to help...and besides...do you need to specify the _root if you remain in the main timeline...?

    You don't have to specify _root if you're in the main timeline, but I like to do it, just as good practise.

    Could you please post the FLA? I like FLAs.
    I regret to inform you that I'll have to take this up tomorrow - dad's going to kill me if I don't get to bed.


    Thanks,
    Furry
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for your help so far...

    here is a link for the flash file as it is too big to upload.

    http://www.dcynet.com/graphics/tourtest.fla

    It is a 2834 kb download.

    In it I have used the frameload command to tell the timeline when to jump to the next segment of the main movie timeline but it always seems to hang up at the _framesload command and never jumps...

    eyy yii yii!!

    -Syn

    ps...this movie is organized a little different than my original question but the intent is the same...using labels to navigate... and the framesload command to control the timeline.
    Last edited by Syndessol; 11-05-2002 at 12:57 AM.

  6. #6
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Try this:

    ***Frame 1***
    Code:
    ifFrameLoaded ("FrameLabel") {
    	gotoAndPlay("FrameLabel");
    }
    ***Frame 2***
    Code:
    gotoAndPlay(1);
    That should fix you up.

    BTW - Next time, zip that bad boy up! That file's HUGE for a 56k Modem!


    Furry
    Last edited by Fat_N_Furry; 11-05-2002 at 12:12 PM.
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    8
    Thanks again for your help F&F...

    Unfortunately it still doesn't work using that code.

    I originally did try that method but it failed. It still hangs up in the second goto command.

    From what I understand...the ifFrameloaded command has been depreciated in FlashMX and no longer works the same way in did in 4 and 5. It is now handled as an if/else condition with the _framesloaded property attached to it.

    Any other suggestions???? anyone????

    (Sorry about the zip but I did try to zip it and the zip utility kept failing and I was afraid I would corrupt the file with zip...didn't realize you were on dialup.)

    Thanks again for the help so far
    -Syn

  8. #8
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    When you tried to zip that file, what zip program were you using?

    BTW - check out this slightly altered ifFramesLoaded example. It works for me; if it doesn't work for you, then I'm stumped beyond belief. Please let me know if it works or not.

    ifFrameLoaded.zip

    This file was too big to attach (144 kb) because of the big image I used to give it some load time.


    Furry
    Last edited by Fat_N_Furry; 11-05-2002 at 06:26 PM.
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    8
    Thanks....it works now...

    It appears that scripting it this way causes it to hang up...
    *****
    ifFrameLoaded ("picture2") {
    gotoAndPlay("picture2");
    }
    gotoAndPlay("picture1");
    *****

    but if you split the second part out and drop it in the following frame, it works.

    I always assumed that if the first statement fails, it goes to the next and ignores the first and so on...then when it repeats the statement on the second pass...it tries again and keeps doing so until it is true....guess I still have a lot to learn about the subtle intricacies of this bastard of a program called Flash.

    At any rate, I got it running...
    Thanks again for all your help F&F...
    Peace!!!
    -Syn

  10. #10
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Your welcome! Or de nada, in Spanish which I'm learning this year. No problema, muchacho! Mucho obligó. Hehe


    Gordo_Y_Peludo
    Last edited by Fat_N_Furry; 11-05-2002 at 08:06 PM.
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center