dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Using A Target with load movie

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26
    Ok. I'm trying to load one of my SWFX generated swf files into a movie. Well, loading it is no problem. It works just like I expect. However, manipulating it once it is loaded is another matter. I tried creating a movie within my movie to target for replacement. Supposedly, it can be replaced with the SWFX swf and retain all it's properties such as it's alpha or tweens. Apparantly, I'm doing something wrong. It loads the movie but doesn't retain any of the characteristics of the movie it replaces.

    Can anyone clue me in on what I may be doing wrong?

    Regards,
    Greybro

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26

    Another Question

    I followed your instructions and am still getting fouled up. I have a few question that would perhaps clarify things for me.

    When I create an empty movie clip within my movie (I've called it "empty" and target it, am I to refer to it as "empty" for example or as "empty.swf", even though it's just a symbol. It doesn't seem to allow and tweening.

    Ok, should I be loading targeting the movie "empty" from the main timeline or from within empty? I've tried it both ways by the way and can't make the target function work

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    547
    There's no tween in this example, but it does show how to use Tell Target with an empty movie clip.

    Check this out:

    http://www.wildswfx.com/help/SWFX_load_help.zip

    Then, read these threads:

    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...threadid=31658
    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...threadid=31277
    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...threadid=34062

    Then, if you haven't answered your question, post more specifically your concern.

    You refer to the movie clip as "empty" not "empty.swf". I wouldn't try to give the load command from within "empty". In the example in the .zip above, the "empty" is totally empty, and there are load commands on the main timeline, and in sub-tier buttons.

    best of luck,

    r

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26

    Clarification

    I've followed the manual and created a movie clip within my main movie. I then placed an action to load the external movie I want to bring in and control. I tell it to target my all ready existing file called empty. However, unlesss give it a level it won't load. In other words, I can't seem to get it to target the movie called empty.

    Does this give you any ideas as to what I've missed?

    Regards,
    Greybro

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26

    Hang Tight

    I'm looking over your examples. Hopefully, I can follow this and not waste anymore of your time. Thanks for the files dude

    Greybro

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26

    Got It

    Hey,

    Ok Dude. I got it with your help. Thanks. But, oddly, my actions looked just like yours. i'm thinking it was working but the whole right corner location cause me not to see the movie. Thanks again dude.

    Regards,
    Greybro

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    26

    Another Question

    Hey,

    I disected both right down to the final frames. The only difference between mine and yours was that your referenced your empty movie as "empty movie" and I referenced mine as "empty" . Ah, you know what it was? It was the doggone instance name which I apparently confused with label.

    Doh! Thanks for your help mate.

    Regards,
    Greybro

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    547
    That happens so often. Also, the inclusion of an extra "/", or classifying a string as an expression cause more headaches than I care to think about.

    Glad you got it.

    r

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center