dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: browser question

  1. #1

    browser question

    hey,

    i'm using netscape 4 or above and explorer 5.1 for mac. my problem is that my page works fine in netscape (www.geocities.com/amoulis/a) when i open up the flash site. however it doesn't fit perfect within the explorer window when viewed in explorer.

    the other problem is I'm trying to do the tutorial where it leaves the menu and scrollbars off the new window. the tuturial works within netscape, but again it falls short of working when i try to view it in explorer.

    thanks for you help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    error : Sorry, the page you requested was not found.
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

  3. #3
    sorry about that. it's www.geocities.com/amoulits/a

  4. #4
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    Try this in your html of the popup;

    <body leftmargin="0" marginwidth="0" topmargin="0" marginheight="0" scroll="no">

    You've got topmargin to 1 and no leftmargin...
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

  5. #5
    thanks for your help geminis, but i can't seem to get it to work.

    everytime i do something it never works in explorer. for instance i can't even do new windows without the scrollbars, resize, and header. i don't get it. what else could it be?

    thanks again.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    I'm on Mac and my websites uses popup windows, and there's no problem.

    I use the Easy PopUp extension from flash exchange page. (http://www.macromedia.com/software/flash/)

    Make sure this is set to the HTML page where your swf is embedded: width="100%" height="100%"

    So no pixels but scale to exact 100%

    good luck
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    34
    amoulits, I feel your pain.

    I have been dealing with this very problem for weeks now and I haven't found a solution for it. My site fits perfectly on a PC, but on a Mac I get the same border at the bottom and right that you get on your site.

    Geminis suggestion works pretty well. I tried it with my site and got it to fit, but the problem is it will stretch the site a little the way publishing at 100% will do. This might be enough to solve your problem amoultis, but it doesn't help me because the pixel fonts I use get distorted by it.

    If you want to see the same problem happen on my site take a look at this on a Mac:

    www.unf.edu/~bins0001

    If anyone can find a way to correct this, it would be very much appreciated. I'm curious to know if anyone else has ever had this problem.

  8. #8
    this is driving me crazy!!!

    i'm using flash 5 so the extension you're speaking of unfortunately won't help me at this time gemenis.

    i set the swf file within a table at 100% height and width as you had suggested and seemed to work for sb. it just made things worse for me though. now my netscape page is off centered. the explorer page still has white surrounding it. the only difference is that the swf file is centered in the webPage.

    i'm 'bout to pull some hair off my head. maybe other suggestions can fix the problem?

    thanks for the continued support and help.
    -alex.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    Well there's always the trick to load the swf directly into the popup, so without HTML code.

    Amoulits, I did a test with your swf-page. Fits 100% with no border on Explorer an Netscape.

    But I am worried about this code;

    <!-- text below generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE --></object></layer></div></span></style></noscript></table></script></applet><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mc/mc.js"></script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://domainpending.com/js_source/geov2.js"></script><script language="javascript">geovisit();</script><noscript><img src="http://visit.webhosting.yahoo.com/visit.gif?us1037180389" border=0 width=1 height=1></noscript>
    <IMG SRC="http://geo.yahoo.com/serv?s=76001070&t=1037180389" ALT=1 WIDTH=1 HEIGHT=1>

    It's on the bottom of your HTML page....

    If you want the files I used, I can mail them to you...
    Last edited by Geminis; 11-13-2002 at 06:15 AM.
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

  10. #10
    yeah geminis, i noticed that code at the bottom of the source code. i think that geocities adds that to the page when you host through them. there's no way to remove it. i'm in the process of getting hosted by a different provider. that should solve that problem soon enough.

    you say that my page is working for you? it still isn't working for me. what's your sites address? i'd like to see if your pages are showing up correctly on my computer. I looked at SB's page and both his netscape and explorer pages were off centered.

    anyways, if you can email me those files that would be great. amoulits@hotmail.com

    thanks.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    Amoulits, very strange thing here, if I test your page offline it works, but I uploaded it here: http://www.brucekey.nl/test/start.html but then your swf won't load. On Netscape it did though!

    My site is on http://www.brucekey.nl same situation as yours...

    The Easy Popup is indeed for MX since version 3, but you can download version 2.5 here: http://home.swfla.rr.com/centerpopup/

    And I'll mail you the code which I used in my test!

    Hope it will work now ;-)
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

  12. #12
    that is very strange geminis. who knows.

    well, i tried using the code you had worked up. it didn't quite work again, but...for some reason i learned that the webSite was showing the swf file beyond the movie borders (thanks to you geminis). I just increased the border out from the edges, republished and all is better.

    it's not aligned like i would want it within explorer, but it's much much better.

    thanks a million geminis. one last thing . you say you have a mac right?

    now why can't i download the popup extension?!? i'm in futile mod right now. nothing quite works. i'm expecting the roof to fall on top of my mac any second now.
    Last edited by amoulits; 11-13-2002 at 11:05 AM.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Geminis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    232
    Did you check http://www.brucekey.nl it's exactly aligned as I want, so there SHOULD be no problem.

    I am sorry that the downloadlinks didn't work on that page, maybe you could mail him.

    Keep the faith with your Mac! ;-)
    Glad I could help!
    Schizophrenia beats being alone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center