dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Learning 3D - how long?

Corporate Nose-Picker

Learning 3D - how long?

Hi, I know this is a veeeeery relative question. But I'd like to know if any of you use 3D programs such as 3Dmax, among others. I have NO experience using 3D programs and a new position is opening in my dept. next year for an interior renderer. This would entail designing interiors for executive aircraft based on customer requests and engineering specs. I would use 3Dmax and Solid Works (never heard of that one before).

Is the learning curve steep? I'm a pretty fast learner when it comes to programs and my past experience is photoshop, illustrator and flash, asides from layout (dreamweaver, quark and powerpoint).

Any thoughts?
    Last edited by aeroflash; 12-02-2002 at 10:52 AM.
    Of course I'm the man for the job! What is the job, by the way?

3DS Max took me about two weeks to get into it. (Till I done my first good looking render)

But to really learn modelling and not just doing the easy things you need more. Maybe two months if you are a fast learner? To make really amazing pictures you need longer.

Fredi
    Mind Share Projects [ <- my latest projects ] [ my splash page -> ] Fredi Bach
    OS X Code (r,s) [ my Mac, web 2.0 and programming blog ]
    Not A Blog [ my personal weblog ]
    jMe Feed Aggregator [ my latest most famous project ]
    Web Command Line [ use the web like a real geek ]

hey aeroflash