dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Multi channel display of flash movie?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Hague, Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    Multi channel display of flash movie?

    Hi! I would like to know if its possible in Flash to use multi channel output. I want to produce a movie which has to be shown on 6 displays, every display shows another part of the movie, e.g. a running man runs from screen A to screen B etc. Therefore all flash movies have to be synchronized. Ideally I create a movie in a 2048x256 (flash doesnt allow more but its vector based anyway so that doesnt matter) and cut the video size in 6 pieces of 341x256. Alternatively I can maybe create 6 flash movies, play them in 6 browsers, each browser using one channel and have them synchronized. Also have been thinking about Director, but dont have much experience with that software. Any ideas on this topic? I would really appreciate any input! Thanks! Rob Goris / Netherlands.

  2. #2
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    Can't do it, unfortunately. I wish we could deal with multiple displays and talk back and forth--I had a project last year that would have survived if this were possible.

    The only workaround I can think of is if you can split a single display across 6 monitors. It would probably be a very wide, wide, wide screen effect for you...but I could see it working. I can't think of any other way you could go at this, though.

    The idea of using multiple browser windows might work, though. You could "talk" between browsers if you had to. It would certainly be a headache--keep a bottle of Advil laying around.


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  3. #3
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    Oh yeah, you could also build just one big friggin Flash movie and stretch it across the screens--don't use the fscommand("fullscreen") command though. You want your movie to begin on x:0,y:0 of your display...


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Hague, Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the reply. In the meantime I didnt sit still and found the following solution:

    - Import all FLash assets etc. into Director, which can deal with huge resolutions (I chose 5122x768)
    - Play it like one movie
    - Use one Matrox 4-channel videocard (450MMS) and one 2-channel videocard in a powerfull to split the wide movie 6 output channels (monitors / beamers).

    I cant wait to try the setup, but theoretically (brochure talk) it must work!

  5. #5
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    Good idea! I'll have to try it--we've got a 4 channel display setup on one of the computer here--sounds like it should work!


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    102

    Same thing

    I am trying to put together a four display setup. I was wondering if i could get more details about how you achived this. I am using four single output video cards for the output. Did you user director to make it windowless?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Hague, Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    Multi channel

    We you use a multichannel videocard (I used Matrox 200MMS) Windows 2000/XP will enable u to use windows as big as you want. You can stretch them over many screens. Ofcourse for presentations you dont want to see the window bars so what I did is to export the Director movie (Director is by the way the only application I could find which can set up a workspace of e.g.5120x768 pixels) as a projector file, this is an .exe file which includes all assets and Shockwave player. Here you can choose to export without a window bar and center the whole thing so the film will be shown stretched over all your screens perfectly. Beware of the performance though. The individual videochips are powerpfull enough but the CPU has to address all of them. I used a Pentium IV 2Ghz with 765 MB but it turned out I had to adjust my design to speed up the film. Especially Flash assets together in Director with Quicktime or animated GIFS slow down the CPU. Also dont overuse transparancy tweens. Good luck!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center