A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Double Spacing Issues

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Somplace
    Posts
    39

    Double Spacing Issues

    I have loaded text into a dynamic text object from an external text file. For some reason there is double spacing between the lines throughout the text. I don't understand why this is so. I have searched the forum and i have tried different things, but the text is still double spaced. Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Young Senior Member mayhem_sci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    282
    u can change the line spacing of the dynamic textfield, just click the format button. but i've a feeling it's more than this...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Somplace
    Posts
    39
    It is more...it seems to double space because windows uses double carriage returns and thats what is causing my problem.

  4. #4
    Young Senior Member mayhem_sci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    282
    i have a vague memory of this happening to me, i think (age does a lot to a man). i solved it somehow by playing around with notepad which i used to create the text file.

  5. #5
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    you could write the text in a single line and force the line breaks using \n

    if you add the carriage return by hitting return windows will use \r\n

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Somplace
    Posts
    39
    I have read threads where that solved the problem, but the thing is that i already have the text typed...and there is a lot of it. In fact i copied it from when they were in the dynamic text fields...but once i put it in notpad it double spaces.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Somplace
    Posts
    39

    FIxed?

    I uploaded the swf to the server that hosts my site and it seems that the text shows up fine on it. But i don't understand why its double spaced when i test it on my computer. Oh well...thank you all for your suggestions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center