dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: I need advice

Hybrid View

I need advice

I thought I understood this but I guess I don't. I am working on a practice quiz and want to show a timer while students take the quiz. I have a getTimer on a movie clip on frame 5 and a getTimer on the try again button on frame 7. I am using an array to dynamically load jpegs and to load the questions and answers. Everything works fine except that when I use the try again button to reset the quiz my timer doesn't reset. The quiz has 20 questions. You can use the number keyboard (A = 1, B = 2, C = 3, D = 0)to quickly go to the end of the quiz. Can someone please take a look and give me suggestions. Flash is just a hobby for me so I am no expert. Of course the pics won't load from here.
    Attached Files Attached Files

I'm still looking for help. Can one of you really smart paople out there please take a look at my code in the above .fla? Here is a link to my work in progress so the jpegs load. Thanks.

http://members.tripod.com/spanishfla.../quizFoods.swf

Banned
    Change your timer script to this:
    Code:
    onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
    	Time = Math.round((getTimer() - _root.last_test_time) /1000);
    	if (Time<10) {
    		_root.elapsedTime = "00"+Time+"  seconds have passed.";
    	} else if (Time>9 & Time<100) {
    		_root.elapsedTime = "0"+Time+"  seconds have passed.";
    	} else if (Time>=100) {
    		_root.elapsedTime = Time+"  seconds have passed.";
    	}
    }
    onClipEvent (unload) {
    	_root.finalTime = "You finished the quiz in  " + Time +  "  seconds."
    }
    Change your replay button script to this:
    Code:
    on (release) {
    	_root.last_test_time = getTimer();
    	message="";
    	gotoAndPlay(4);
    }
    One last note... You shouldn't have spaces (quiz jan 8 03.fla) in your files names, that'll get you in trouble!

on (release) {
    _root.last_test_time = getTimer();
    message="";
    gotoAndPlay(4);
    }