dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42

Thread: Removing Tools, Location & Scrollbars on both Windows AND Macintosh

  1. #21
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    This is all starting to make sense in a weird kind of way. I'm working on a file now.

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    25
    from what I can tell, and I'm certainly no wizard of this stuff, your function opens the new window, with the size and toolbars variables all ready to go, and loads the yahoo.com page in that window. Now suppose I have ten buttons in my flash fmovie that all are supposed to do this exact same thing, but each one is a calling a different html file? Now what, do I have to define a new function for each instance?

  3. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    No you can use the same function and just pass a few different parameters with the getURL that calls the function.

    But let me try to solve Mark's problem first!

  4. #24
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    Ok gang,

    Goto http://www.t-i-w.com/downloads/test/test.html

    Click the button, it is instructed to open a new window at 500 x 400 without any tools, scrolls etc.

    WINDOWS
    When you click it on a Windows machine, it will open just as spec'd.

    MAC
    On the Mac, it opens but the blue graphic appears to be offset or too small by about 20 pixels East/South and ALL the tools, scrolls etc are still there.

    I've attached all the source files for you to play with.


    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Check this:

    http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/windowblues.html

    Don't bother about scaling, positioning or whatever else.
    Just tell me if it opens a "naked" popup on the Mac?

  6. #26
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    Yes it did!!! Did you tell it to do that from within the intro.swf file? If so, can you asign those same actions to the invisible button so the "naked" window comes up when the user clicks on it instead of automatically (remember that issue?)?

    We're getting closer to bedtime.

  7. #27
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    The popup is called from the helmet! That's the way I see it.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    25
    oldnewbie, you are the man, Works perfect on my Mac.

    Jaquar 10.2.3 with IE 5.2.2

    So now are you going to be able to explain it to me in terms that I can understand?

    And remember I have several buttons in my Flash movie that need to open this type of window, all most likely the same size, but all with different html in them.

    thanks,

    oh yeah and how do I put a graphic on my messages, what's the syntax for [img] code, if you don't mind.

  9. #29
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    See if you can apply that same treatment to the zipped file I attached a few minutes ago. That way I can test to see if there is any image offset on my Macs as well and if we get it to work we can leave it on the board for others to follow or as a tutorial.

  10. #30
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Can't you tell if there's any offset from my link comparing Mac & Pc?

    Remember that we're dealing with different machines & browsers and that at some point, some compromises have to be made! This offset thing wasn't what started all of this and IMHO when you get it "generally" working with a few browsers and on different machines, you should be happy! Imagine when AOL users will start complaining!

    I'm willing to try to adapt your files, if you think it has to be done, but it will have to wait till morning.

    As for you Schlep, I'm sure we can work it out, but by morning also!

    I'm having my third cognac, and calling it a night!

  11. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    25
    Thanks, I be back tomorrow evening, hoping you are here.

  12. #32
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    I've attached a screen shot of the naked window. IR sleepy to but I really appreciate you staying up to help me out with this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #33
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    One last thing...

    Out of curiosity, does this file work as well?

    http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/windowblues2.html

  14. #34
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Wasn't talking about the Pro-hosting Banner, I was opening up your other movie in a popup from the helmet button. Didn't you see that one?

  15. #35
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    Originally posted by oldnewbie
    One last thing...

    Out of curiosity, does this file work as well?

    http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/windowblues2.html
    Yes it does, as long as you are calling it up from within the intro.swf file (that's the big long movie in the back page Schlep) then it is what I'm looking for, if only you could get it to do that when you click a button within the flash movie I'd be pretty dog-on happy, yea-baby-yea!

    Think I'll join you in that Congac now.

  16. #36
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    For C... sake! It is opening up from the helmet invisible button!

    Who's had too much cognac?

  17. #37
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    D'oh, let me check the helmet link out,...hey, it does work! There is only a little offset to, enough that I can probably live with. See attached screenshot.

    What did you do?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  18. #38
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Both links...

    http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/windowblues.html

    http://blake.prohosting.com/~tektips/windowblues2.html

    ... Give the same results?


    I did what I said I would do. The javascript function that opens the popup is in the html, but is called from the helmet button in the intro movie. I did at first have it automatically open when the intro movie's html was loaded, but then changed it, so the helmet button would call it.

    As for the offset, many things could be causing it... Your use of a div, for instance (I use a table), your javascript function to re-load the page for Netscape, or even your browser. You might in fact have to live with it!

  19. #39
    Sr. Member and still clueless!
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    249
    Both give exactly the same result! Yahoo!!! Schlep was right, you ah da man!

    Ok, so in the invisible button, you simply call on the URL of the page correct? No monkey business with removing the scrolls/tools etc. Correct?

    Next you added some javascript in the html page that the big long movie was added to. That, I guess I can find in the source code of the page. Correct?

    That's it?

  20. #40
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Nope! Wrong again!

    In the html of the intro movie (my links), you will find this javascript function:

    Code:
    <*SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <*!--
    function openmyPopup()
    {
    window.open("http://www.t-i-w.com/staging/edpead/html/mainindex.html","","directories=0,menubar=0,scrollbars=0,toolbars=0,location=0,width=720,height=420,left=0,top=0");
    }
    //-->
    <*/SCRIPT>
    *** No "*" should be in the tags above ***

    And the script on the helmet's invisible button is:
    Code:
    on (release) {
    getURL("javascript:openmyPopup()");
    }
    *** There should be no spaces in the above between java & script! this board is acting up! ***


    That's it, that's all!
    Nothing in the html in the popup or in the long movie itself.

    Goodnight!
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 01-10-2003 at 04:40 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center