dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: 3d max I need help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62

    3d max I need help

    Can someone point me in the right direction to a tutorial or tell me how to. Im wanting to do a logo from scratch. by extruding from lines drawn in front viewport. Can someone please help me.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Banned-ed-er-ing WMLeeBo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,482
    What part? The line? The extrude?
    Hello.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    ok if i was to design a none smoking sign, circle with a diagonal. How would i go about starting that?
    thanks wmleebo

  4. #4
    holographic god Vatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Future
    Posts
    728
    just draw it with the splines, then use the extrude modifier, it should make it 3d, or to make it easier and more exact, draw it in flash, export it as an adobe illustrator file, then import that into the 3d app. then extrude it
    Chaos= Religion+Humanity

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    yes i know this but i am needing details, i went to extrude and for instance to make an object that needs a hole puched out i couldnt get the boolean to work right cause my extrude wasnt capped. do you know of a tutorial that explains this or maybe tell me with details?

  6. #6
    holographic god Vatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Future
    Posts
    728
    boolean?..you don't even need to do that to make a 3d logo, you want it like the pic attached right?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Chaos= Religion+Humanity

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    im just using that as an example, but the design im looking for will have the same aspects to it, ie. wholes in it.
    thanks for the help

  8. #8
    holographic god Vatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Future
    Posts
    728
    tell us what exactly you want so we can be more specific to help you...each and every task is its own problem..each thing is treated differently, i just need to know how to approach it..i know the boolean makes holes..but it does a horrible job at it, its the last thing i will ever depend on
    Chaos= Religion+Humanity

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    I would like to be able to make my logo. http://home.earthlink.net/~ahansen27...ons/logo2b.jpg
    the way i would aproach it is doing a spline outline, but that leaves the problem of the holes in the A and G. so the most i know how to do is the outline and i attempted the extrude but it left the back uncapped. does this help?
    thanks vatcher

  10. #10
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    you could either use the spline tools within 3ds max or you could import an *.ai file. either way, the "holes" in the A and G will work fine when you extrude the logo.

    there is absolutely no need for boolean. just simple line/shape tools (splines) and extrude the closed shape or
    that's really not too hard within 3ds max to draw and will work as stated above without an issue.

    good luck

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    so do i have to link the holes with the outline?

  12. #12
    holographic god Vatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Future
    Posts
    728
    noyou do not need to link the inside hole with the outside, just click on the spline and go to the modifier stack..go into the spline edit mode and press the 'verticies' option whcih looks like a bunch of red dots..scroll down and look for a button that says 'create line' click that and then draw the lines respectivly. this will of coarse make the spline one full spline so when you extrude it extrudes the whole letter, and even leaves a hole where you wanted it to
    Chaos= Religion+Humanity

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    awesome that is what i was looking for thank you, but what about the uncapped back? is there an option for that?

  14. #14
    holographic god Vatcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Future
    Posts
    728
    there is a modifier that caps the holes...should be labeled respectivly
    Chaos= Religion+Humanity

  15. #15
    " Lets Rock ! ....... " NitroCharged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    374
    Here's how I would handle this: might not be the best, might not be right, but worx for me

    I would convert those logo letters to a font set and that way I could mess heavily with bevels, edges and the whole plethora of choices in the font modifier list - making it really fast to work with.

    Click here to see what I got by doing that and adding a chrome bitmap to the environment for the reflectivity while the text sits on a plain white box
    Last edited by NitroCharged; 01-21-2003 at 09:58 PM.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    Hey that is an interesting way to solve it nitro, how did you go about converting it to a font set? im curious was there a size problem cause it looks like it had to be cut in the center?

  17. #17
    " Lets Rock ! ....... " NitroCharged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    374
    No size problem,
    right after I converted the 2 letters to ttf, I realised there was no need to do them individually! Doh!!!
    Will redo as one symbol - gimme 5

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    how did you convert it to a font set?

  19. #19
    " Lets Rock ! ....... " NitroCharged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    374
    I created the font using a font maker program, some out there are free, others cost.
    The result:



    The image is slightly different - for some reason the last file I saved won't open now, so I had to redo the colors, position etc

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    62
    Well that does seem like the easiest way for that situation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center