dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: About sounds over scenes...

  1. #1
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    About sounds over scenes...

    I'm trying to run a sound over seceral scenes...BUT however I don't know how to, I can get it to run in one scene fine, but how do I make it work in all the others...

    Note: I also don't want the sound to change it's position over scenes otherwise it'll start all over again or go to another part of the sound.

    Man

    P.S. The sound is streamed if that makes a difference.
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  2. #2
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282

  3. #3
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    OH MY GOH-.....

    Ok thanks...
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  4. #4
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    Ok....

    I read that but didn't exactly catch the bit I was after, if someone could explain my thing in simple terms I'd be grateful...
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  5. #5
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Sorry that tute is about the best way to explain it.

    The sound object is defined in the first frame of your movie, then it is started, changing scenes doesn't stop the sound from playing.

  6. #6
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    It doesn't?

    as hard as I am to understand, you've already been a great help...

    I've got the song (yeah, a song) playing in Layer Y, and I'm using it so I see the little sound waves in the timeline. When it reaches frame x it goes to scene 2 and I have also put the sound in the next timeline, in scene 2, but when it gets to scene 2 it makes the sound start again, instead of making it carry on...

    am I doing this right?

    Thanks in advance,

    Mental Man

    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  7. #7

  8. #8
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    Thanks man

    Thanks for your quick responses man, I think these will help, if not, I'll put my noggin to the test...

    Mental Man!

    P.S. Don't forget to thank me for getting you (closer to) your 10,000th post.
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  9. #9
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    If you email me I'll send you a .fla

    ebasics1@tampabay.rr.com

  10. #10
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    OKIE DOKIE!

    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  11. #11
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    this could mean HOURS of fun....?

    thanks mayte....
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  12. #12
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    No problem !!

  13. #13
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    One more question...

    How do I get this to work over different scenes?
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  14. #14

    same problem

    i am trying to do exactly rhe same thing as you? did you figure it out? can you explain to me in simple terms, im a new flash user!

    sadie x x


  15. #15
    The village idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK!!
    Posts
    81

    Well OK

    what you do is set up ur sound (u know all about dragging it so you see the waves in the timeline? GOOD) and when u reach the end of your scene stop ur wave. go onto second scene and set up your sound again. this time, where u see the edit button in properties, click that to get a map of your sound, in the middle between the 2 versions there's a timeline, drag the small gray box along the timeline and start from where you last had your sound...If you want it in more sense click here
    Everything I say is the truth.
    The above statement is a lie.

  16. #16
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    Try this:

    Code:
    mySound = new Sound();
    mySound.attachSound("song");
    mySound.start(0,999);

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center