A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Read any good books?

Read any good books?

Ok well as most of you know by now , im new to flash and what now. I asked a whiel ago if there were any good books out there, someone told me no good actual flash books out there, but he reccomend possibly getting a actionscrtip book. (i would much rather have a book than read online stuff all the time)

So my ? to you all is what are some really good actionscrtipting books and websites out there that take you throught the basics, and also take you to the advanced levels as well. Also if there are any good flash books that woudl be helpful to

Hi,

One of the best books I've gotten on Actionscript is the Macromedia Flash MX Designer's ActionScript Reference by friends of ed. It has great tutorials(although you will need to have some grasp of actionscript) and the full (easier to understand) reference. Plus the cd comes with all the codes for each chapter. It's right next to me every time I use Flash MX. A must have. Check it out.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...72704?v=glance

thanks

hey i really appreciate it. I may consider buying it, the thing is tho, i dont really have a big grasp on actionscttiping. I mean i knwo a few lil scritps and what they mean, but its nothing major, so im pretty much a realy beginner to all of this so, would you still recoomend it?

I would...and I'll tell you why. Some of the chapters are difficult(The drawing API(4), modular programming(15), object oriented programming(16)), definitly not for the novice. The BIG draw here is the easy to understand reference. Once you get better at actionscripting this will come in handy. Chapters like the sound object(5), color object(6) and structuring content for the web(11) are easy to follow and understand. It's big (1080 pgs) and amazon.com offers it at $35 not $50. Bottom line, it's worth the price of admission...A-

sounds good