dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: best way to make text a hyperlink?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    68

    best way to make text a hyperlink?

    okay, this may sound a bit silly, but what's the best way to make text in flash a link? throw an invisible button over the text with a getURL attached to it? isn't that a little cumbersome? thanks a bunch.

    werd.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    If the text is static, just highlight the portion of it you want to react as a link, and type the url in the URL box at the bottom of the text's properties. It's icon looks like one single chain link.

    If it's dynamic, you can do the same, but make sure the html tab (<>) is selected, to be able to enter the URL in the URL box.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    68
    crap. i didn't even see the little hyperlink icon. thanks for pointing that out.

    it's funny the things you miss...

    now a link to a different scene within a movie clip - that's best done with a button and a

    on (press) {
    gotoAndStop("scene2", 1);
    }

    yes?
    Last edited by yeah-yeah; 01-30-2003 at 03:07 AM.

  4. #4
    you shouldnt use the same frames even if you are on different scenes
    at least ive always had an overplapping problem i dont know about anybody else
    but i would make it more like
    gotoAndPlay (2,10)

  5. #5
    sorry i meant

    on (press) {
    gotoAndStop("scene2", 10);
    }





    only if frame 10 wasent used in scene 1

    just used the next unused frame to start scene 2

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    For the first time today... Again!

    In targeting the main timeline from movie clips and/or from external .swfs loaded on other levels, scene names are USELESS!
    Label the targeted frame with an unique label such as start2 or whatever suits you, add _root or _level0 to the path, and target that labeled frame in your button's script:

    on (release){
    _root.gotoAndPlay("start2");
    }

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    68
    useless? i used the scene name and the button worked fine.

  8. #8
    what if you want the link to be a simple email link?
    i've tried putting in mailto:wish-flash@macromedia.com
    in the url box and in the code itself.
    what should i do?

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    yeah-yeah, on this I know what I'm talking about, and you don't! You're probably referring to buttons on the main timeline, and not from buttons within movie clips and/or buttons in external .swfs loaded on other levels.

    frankie_luccini, putting a mailto:.... works fine for me!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    68
    owch. i don't know what i'm talking about? i have buttons within different scenes that take me from scene to scene. i guess i misspoke before as i'm not navigating through moveclips, just through three different scenes. i see the difference.

    you didn't have to be so harsh, though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center