dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Do you guys ever use sequential .bmp's instead of vectors for Flash 3d?

  1. #1

    Do you guys ever use sequential .bmp's instead of vectors for Flash 3d?

    Hey guys, I'm wondering if there would be a dissadvantage to using some sequenced .bmps in an animation instead of rendering out the vectors ?

    anyone ever do this?

    advantages?

    disadvantages?
    Sometimes....when it comes over me..... And I totally lose control......... I Like it.



    www.visiontilt.com
    www.glamourdog.com
    www.caseyandcynthia.com

  2. #2
    Great, Daddy-O! Hippyscum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pays-Bas
    Posts
    382
    disadvantage: wayy bigger

    take compressed .jpg's instead
    lalalalalalala

  3. #3
    Superman Daniellawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    metropolis
    Posts
    593
    Really depends upon how big the animation is. Rendering a sequence of bmp's is going to create a large file size whereas using vectors can be scaleable and still pretty low file size.

    Swift 3d does both of these things renders to vector (but doesnt look as smooth or real as bmp) and it can also render out in a sequence of bmp's into one file (But the bmp's lose quality when scaled)

    So as i said before it all depends on what type of animation you are doing?



  4. #4
    When I said sequential .bmps I was talking about importing them into flash that way, flash will obviously compress them to .jpgs on export.

    I was making some renders this weekend of some dental devices using a dental teeth and mouth model, there was alot of geometry involved, it seemed like the vector output I was getting was huge, I ended up going to .bmps that I then had flash compress with the rest of the movie, I think the results look good, definately more detailed, but I'm wondering why I don't see more people doing it that way?
    Sometimes....when it comes over me..... And I totally lose control......... I Like it.



    www.visiontilt.com
    www.glamourdog.com
    www.caseyandcynthia.com

  5. #5
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    yes, and even used jpg's/png's... and it was HUGE!!

    better to optimize the files going in... the jpg compression you talk of is not as effective as say, Fireworks or Photoshop.
    Last edited by gerbick; 02-18-2003 at 05:19 PM.

    [ Hello ] | [ gerbick ] | [ Ω ]

  6. #6
    ism BlinkOk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    , location, location
    Posts
    5,002
    sometimes a combination of bitmap and vector can produce the best result.
    Graphics Attract, Motion Engages, Gameplay Addicts
    XP Pro | P4 2.8Ghz | 2Gb | 80Gb,40Gb | 128Mb DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro

  7. #7
    for this recent project, I used a couple wireframe spinning outlines in vector, but for most of the complex animations I did bmps cuz the vector fills were larger files than the .jps (from .bmps) were.
    Sometimes....when it comes over me..... And I totally lose control......... I Like it.



    www.visiontilt.com
    www.glamourdog.com
    www.caseyandcynthia.com

  8. #8
    ism BlinkOk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    , location, location
    Posts
    5,002
    are you using mesh gradient fills?
    Graphics Attract, Motion Engages, Gameplay Addicts
    XP Pro | P4 2.8Ghz | 2Gb | 80Gb,40Gb | 128Mb DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro

  9. #9
    Senior Member RUSHVision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    5,441
    Once you reach a certain level of complexity, vector output will be larger than raster output. Which one you use will really depend on the content/complexity of your scene.
    mrush


    > .. _ .: Join the FK ARENA!:..:RUSHVision vs. JWin:. _ .. <
    ..:: "Why aren't the lockout programs working?!?...Release the monkey!" ::..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center