dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: full functional Flash UI radio under buttons ?

  1. #1

    full functional Flash UI radio under buttons ?

    hello,

    I've got a ton of flash UI all linked togather but need a way over mouse overing them, so right now i have my radio button under an invisable button with handcursor turned off...

    Problem is when the user clicks the radio text the radio button doesnt activate, only if you actualy click the radio graphic..

    Any way to get a mouseover with full radio functions ?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Certainely not that way!

  3. #3
    thanks, that helps a whole bunch

    no, really... i appiciate your reply

    if fact, i wish i was like you could sit around on forums all day and reply to questions i prolly know with useless answers,

    cause after all ' I ' dont have the time to learn everything i need to know about flash, yet am forced to learn as i go... but thats great you can just take this forum i use for help and manage to waste my time with it,

    so.... really, thanks

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397

    Re: full functional Flash UI radio under buttons ?

    Originally posted by riot187
    ...I've got a ton of flash UI all linked togather but need a way over mouse overing them, so right now i have my radio button under an invisable button with handcursor turned off...
    Listen my friend, I guess my answer wasn't my best today, but rather than trying to explain your problem (which you obviously can't!), you should attach your .fla, so we can make some sense of it.

    Are you using an invisible button just to turn off the hand cursor?

    Too bad for you though, I'm going out for diner! Somebody else will have to take care of you! But I guess you'll appreciate that!

  5. #5
    cant always post a fla, sensitive stuff


    I need each radio button to also react to a mouseover

    since that is outside of UI capability, i have an invisible button overtop the radio

    problem is, when they click the radio text the radio button doesnt turn true (cause its covered by the button, although clicking the graphic works), and since i have too many buttons and radios to attach conditions to each, i need a better way over radio mouseover

    so thats the background, here is the question:


    Whats the best way to mouseover a radio WITHOUT comprimising the radios functionality (ie the user can activate the radio by clicking the graphic OR the text) ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New York/London
    Posts
    367
    u can try doing what i did,, i posted an albino version of my fla,,, i took out all the sensitive material out of there and when i get the amended fla,, i just copy all the changes across,,,,,

    i really feel there is a huge lack of tutorials and help on componants, multipage forms, and forms in general. So forums are the closest things to someone helping u

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    228
    Perhaps this approach can be of some help:
    Code:
    //'test_rb' is the instance name of the radio button component
    test_rb.onRollOver = function() {
    	trace("MOUSEOVER!");
    }
    test_rb.onRollOut = function() {
    	trace("MOUSEOUT!");
    }
    hope it helps
    idi

  8. #8
    swwt, i didnt even think to try an onRoll, i just tried the on (roll) thanks that solves it i think


    yea, stipping out sensitive stuff out this would SUCK... bigtime, all the variables, instances, comments, everything would have to go, it'de be easier just writing a new one,

    Your right there is a seriously lack of MX component tutorials...

  9. #9
    myRadioButton.onRollOver = function() {
    trace("MOUSEOVER!");

    doesnt work.


    Only works for movieclips and buttons, not radios or ui's


    only thing i can do is to put invisible boxes over top the radio text

    any ideas ???

  10. #10

    ok here is fla

    ok, here it is.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    anyone ???

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    How about a hitTest based on the mouse cursor position on stage?

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    You won't be able to say I've never helped you!
    Last edited by oldnewbie; 12-02-2004 at 01:03 PM.

  14. #14
    yippie



    help indeed you've done


    but is there any way to do this without making every radio a mc ???

    problem is i have around 50-75 radios and checkboxes


    i was thinking maybe modifing somthing in the UI lib

  15. #15
    i should specify further


    i have 75 or so components and 500 lines of script that turn some off when others are on and etc,

    if i make every one a movie clip i would need to change every line of that code (no fun)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center