dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: i'm having a tell target problem actionscript problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    southeastern MA
    Posts
    10

    i'm having a tell target problem actionscript problem

    hello all,
    i am having a problem in Flash MX that has to do with the 'tell target' actionscript function. what i'm trying to do, i also did exactly the same way in Flash 5 and it worked 100%. my problem is, i have a movie clip and have several buttons that call-up different parts of that movie clip. when you call-up each part of the clip, the clip before it dissapears and the new clip appears. i know this is supposed to happen but it doesn't in my case. my first button calls-up the first part of the clip but as soon as i click on any other buttons, it calls-up the correct part of the clip but it is layered on top of the first clip. if i click-on another button, say the forth button, it calls-up the first four parts of the movie clip all layered on top of eachother. i know in the MX actionscript panel, it says that 'tell target' is depreciated. am i still able to use it in MX as i would in Flash 5or is there another way to do this now. the actionscript for my buttons is:onRelease tellTarget("my movieclip's instance name") goTo and play("my frame # for the perticular part in the movie clip") i'm still learning Flash, in perticular MX, so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
    aaron a.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Where are all these movie clips? All stacked up on stage but invisible until called, because they're stopped on a first blank keyframe? tellTarget is deprecated but still works, and in the same manner it use to work in 4 & 5. No different in MX.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    southeastern MA
    Posts
    10
    to: oldnewbie,
    i actually have only the one movie clip but i'm calling different parts of it up in 10 frame segments. i imported into MX the actual movie clip from my movie done in flash 5. it worked great in 5 and i didn't change a thing in MX and it's a 'no go'. thanks for your help.
    aaron a.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Can you attach this .fla?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    southeastern MA
    Posts
    10
    to: oldnewbie,
    i actually deleted the movie clip because i'm going to redo it once i figure this out. i can make a very generic movie with a couple buttons and a movie clip in which i will use tellTarget to call-up the different parts of that movie clip exactly the way in which i did this. i can send you the .fla and maybe you could check it out for me. thanks.
    aaron a.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    As you wish!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    southeastern MA
    Posts
    10
    to: oldnewbie,
    perhaps i have figured it out. i just made a generic movie in MX that operates the exact same way as my original. everything works 100%. could it be that when i imported the movieclip into my library from Flash 5 to MX, it somehow got corrupted or MX just didn't reconigize the actionscript? anyway, thanks for your help along the way.
    aaron a.

  8. #8
    Lord of the Singhs
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    India
    Posts
    342
    this does seem like a pvt conversation but excuse me if i'm interrupting

    instead of using telltarget i suggest u start using "with"

    on (press) {
    with (_root.whatever_mc) {
    gotoAndPlay("label");
    }
    }



    or u cud use the preffered dot syntax

    button_mc.onPress = function(){
    _root.whatever_mc.gotoAndPlay("label");
    }

    as u already know tellTarget is deprecated... and i think it's replacement is with()

    Hope this was helpful
    regs
    CooL "N" CalM

    my body is sore
    my eyes are red
    i still itch for more
    before i hit the bed

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    southeastern MA
    Posts
    10
    thank you for the info. i do have it all straightened-out now. however, i will try the with() a/s in the future. thanks.
    aaron a.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center