Flash/XML Ticker/Marquee! I Want To Pause The Scrolling! HELP ME!!!
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Flash/XML Ticker/Marquee! I Want To Pause The Scrolling! HELP ME!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    15

    Flash/XML Ticker/Marquee! I Want To Pause The Scrolling! HELP ME!!!

    The attach file is a .fla of one ticker i saw somewhere, and i want to use it in my homepage! but i need a pause action when the mouse is over the ticker! Can you do that for me? If you don't edit the .fla, please see it, and tell me what should i do! thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    RLx Dinamic Design

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food
    Posts
    3,789
    Delete the actions on your button.

    Give your button an instance name of _btn (or whatever, and replace it in the code below).

    Replace your code with this:
    Code:
    System.useCodepage = true;
    function newsticker(inhalt, posX, posY, tiefe, tempo) {
    	this.loadVariables(inhalt);
    	this.onData = function() {
    		createTextField("text", tiefe, posX, posY, 10, 20);
    		text.html = true;
    		text.htmlText = news;
    		text.selectable = false;
    		text.autoSize = "left";
    		createTextField("text2", tiefe + 1, posX, posY, 10, 20);
    		text2.html = true;
    		text2.htmlText = news;
    		text2.selectable = false;
    		text2.autoSize = "left";
    		text2._x = text._width;
    		function tick() {
    			text._x -= tempo;
    			text2._x -= tempo;
    			if (text2._x <= posX) {
    				text._x = posX;
    				text2._x = text._width + posX;
    			}
    			updateAfterEvent();
    		}
    		_btn.onRollOver = function() {
    			clearInterval(tick_interval);
    		};
    		_btn.onRollOut = function() {
    			tick_interval = setInterval(tick, 30);
    		};
    		if (!tick_interval) {
    			tick_interval = setInterval(tick, 30);
    		}
    	};
    }
    newsticker("ticker.txt", 0, 7, 1, 1);

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    15
    thanks for everything man! it really works! =) grazie..
    just one more thing.. can i increase the scrolling speed? If yes, how? []'z
    RLx Dinamic Design

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food
    Posts
    3,789
    I think tempo is the parameter for that... increase it.

    newsticker("ticker.txt", 0, 7, 1, 1);

    or lower the tick interval.

    tick_interval = setInterval(tick, 30);

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    70
    Hi there ...

    How can I get this running vertical

    Regards

    Flemming

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    Finally

    Quote Originally Posted by gSOLO_01
    Delete the actions on your button.

    Give your button an instance name of _btn (or whatever, and replace it in the code below).
    I've spent about 4 hours researching to find a ticker that looks and works like this. I'm so glad I found this thread! I know it's quite old but it's exactly what I need. I've been playing around with the code, but I can't figure out how to do two things:

    1. Make the ticker pause when you mouse over anchored text. It currently links properly to the news source, but it does not pause. Whereas it pauses fine when you mouse over regular text.

    2. Currently, any spaces after or before the anchored text are not recognized. Whereas spaces before and after regular text are displayed properly.

    3. Is there any way to add an image to this?

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by sitehatchery
    2. Currently, any spaces after or before the anchored text are not recognized. Whereas spaces before and after regular text are displayed properly.
    OK, I've found a way to account for the spaces. I just add the spacing between the anchor tags:

    <a href="www.google.com" target="_blank"> Google </a>


    I still need help answering #1 and #3:

    1. Make the ticker pause when you mouse over anchored text. It currently links properly to the news source, but it does not pause. Whereas it pauses fine when you mouse over regular text.

    3. Is there any way to add an image to this?

    Thanks so much!

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1
    How to change the direction of the !

    Please help me thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com