dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: oldnewbie, can you help?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178

    oldnewbie, can you help?

    I have a movie that loads 4 sample mp3's for background music dynamically when you select one of the samples. The first sample loads as default as soon as you enter the site. However, it works fine locally, but once on the server it doesn't work right.

    If you click the stop button first and then click play it loads and plays, but not until you click the stop button. You have to hit the stop button only if it is the first time you try to play the sample. You can see what I mean if you go to www.delstrange.com/2bluemoon

    I Have attched the .fla if you care to take a look at the code.

    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    delstrange

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    I see it has been downloaded a couple of times. Anyone come up with anything?

    Thanks.
    delstrange

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Looking into it... But as you can see, you're not the only one with problems!

    I've never really got into sound stuff, and I'm determined to find a solution to this before I call it a night!

    At first view, it seems that as if your were loading a regular .swf, you cannot have a .mp3 play until it has fully downloaded. That's why it works on the second run, either by stopping it or a browser refresh, because then it's had time to dowload, and the start action is not ignored as it seems to be the first time you use it, on the same frame action as the loading itself.

    See what I'm getting at?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    Yeah, I see what you're getting at. But it is still weird. Maybe I should try it as streaming rather than as an event sound. That way, it will start playing as soon as a portion of it is downloaded.

    I'll try that.

    Thanks.
    delstrange

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    Okay, I got it to work. I had to do it as a streaming sound.

    Basically I had to put:

    music1.loadSound("sample1.mp3", true);

    instead of:

    music1.loadSound("sample1.mp3", false);

    Thanks again oldnewbie.
    delstrange

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    Okay, maybe I don't have it figured out. If I make it streaming then it doesn't loop but it does start playing right away. It will only loop if I make it an event.

    So now I'm lost again.

    Scott
    delstrange

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well you got me off the case... Does that mean you want me back on to it?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    If you would be so kind. I just know you are better at this programming stuff than I am.

    Or if you think it would be easier to try and get it to loop as a streaming sound by using the above example that I put earlier when I thought it was working.

    Thanks again.
    delstrange

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    I'll think about it!

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    While I stay on "event", maybe check this thread and especially the last post:

    http://forums.devshed.com/t51539/s2e...9a87fc25c.html

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    Thanks oldnewbie for the link to that other thread, it really helped and I have it working now.

    Thanks again.
    delstrange

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    So did you do it streaming?

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    178
    Yeah, the other thread had a sample to use it streaming. So I figured I would go that route.

    Thanks again, you are always of help.
    delstrange

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center