dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: :yikes: dont use the back button......

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    30

    :yikes: dont use the back button......

    I just posted a very long winded reply to a question on the design board. I like to make sure I spelled correctly etc.... so I review my reply. Then stupid me went and hit the back button on the browser (ie)
    It all went away. Ugh! Please can you fix this. Im probalby not the only one this has happened to.
    "Creative minds have always been known to survive any kind of bad training." Anna Freud. 1895-1982

  2. #2
    Back from Hiatus mouse111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    599
    i am sure it has happened to everyone at some point

    but its not fixable.....i dont believe there is any way to temporarily "save" the text in the text box at the time

    i think the only thing that they can do would have a pop-up saying do you want to go back (you will lose whats in the text box) yes or no.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,075
    anything I write these days over than 2 paragraphs I always copy and paste just in case.(hey, it ryhmes!) Anyway, with Flashkit so slow these days, you never know what to except when posting.


    BTW, there is no way to save the text while posting like you were asking about.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    30
    Great Idea with the popup!! At least it would give us a reminder, to realize what we're doing before it happens.
    Thanx
    "Creative minds have always been known to survive any kind of bad training." Anna Freud. 1895-1982

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    308
    Originally posted by younghistorians
    anything I write these days over than 2 paragraphs I always copy and paste just in case.
    Just want to say that I do the same thing.... You never know what will happen... Something is bound to crap out on ya

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,075
    well, vbulletin has a habit of not posting a message like every 1 in 100 posts.

  7. #7
    Señor member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Huddersfield, UK
    Posts
    1,819
    Originally posted by younghistorians
    anything I write these days over than 2 paragraphs I always copy and paste just in case.(hey, it ryhmes!) Anyway, with Flashkit so slow these days, you never know what to except when posting.


    BTW, there is no way to save the text while posting like you were asking about.
    me too, I get a lot of problems with our ISP connection so it's not just here but other forums I post too where it either gives me the "no valid thread link followed" message or posts out a load of gibberish symbols
    Company, Meet Creative
    sign up, help spread the word and win a shuffle.
    ------------------------
    welcomebrand

  8. #8
    Back from Hiatus mouse111's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    599
    mine gives me that page cannot be displayed when its goes to post the new reply

    and then i hit back and its gone!!!

    but i got that popup window idea from the Americas Army game website, where when you go to download it from another source and it says you are now leaving the website and the website you are visiting is not government affiliated.....do you want to continue, yes or no

    Dan

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,075
    when you get the page cannot be displayed after you submit your post, just presh refresh. Itll resend your post info

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center