dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Tracing bitmaps is slow :\

  1. #1
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551

    Tracing bitmaps is slow :\

    Why is it that tracing large bitmaps is really slow? What should I upgrade to speed it up?


    Thanks!
    Rick
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  2. #2
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    It is just slow. Nothing you can do about it. Exept maybe look into Silhouette or other tracing programs.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member carbonX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    261
    It's extremely intensive to calc all those points when vectorizing bitmaps.

    Adjusting your color/corner threshold, curve fit and area are a few ways to speed it up.

    So's buying a faster machine.

  4. #4
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Originally posted by carbonX
    It's extremely intensive to calc all those points when vectorizing bitmaps.

    Adjusting your color/corner threshold, curve fit and area are a few ways to speed it up.

    So's buying a faster machine.

    LOL well, I'm running on a 2.3 Gigahertz machine with 512 MB of RAM with a GeForce4 MX440 video card with 128 MB video ram. Don't know how fast the harddrive spins, but I don't think that would make much difference as tracing bitmaps doesn't invovle any harddrive writing. I will look into Silhouette if tracing becomes a large part of my work.


    Thanks!
    Rick
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    378
    Originally posted by Fat_N_Furry
    LOL well, I'm running on a 2.3 Gigahertz machine with 512 MB of RAM with a GeForce4 MX440 video card with 128 MB video ram. Don't know how fast the harddrive spins, but I don't think that would make much difference as tracing bitmaps doesn't invovle any harddrive writing. I will look into Silhouette if tracing becomes a large part of my work.


    Thanks!
    Rick
    Um..... you know a Geforce MX440 has 64mb of video ram, right?

    On my computer, it is a very quick process. The ONLY way I can make it go slow is either, its an EXTREMELY large picture (Usually doesn't take to long though) or I turn the color threshhold WAY down. Using the pixel by pixel with many corners and around a normal color thresh hold, going every 1 pixel is fairly quick on my machine.

    I think lowering color thresh hold is what makes everything go alot slower.

    My Mcahine:
    2100+ Athlon XP
    ak31a mother board
    512mb ddr pc2100
    Geforce 4 Ti4600 (128mb vid ram)
    2 80GB Hard Drives 7200rpm IDE

    The other stuff isn't important.

  6. #6
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Yeah I usually have the color threshold at 1 and the minimum area at 1 px. everything else is at defaults. I'll try monkeying with the other settings.


    Thanks again
    Rick
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    378
    Originally posted by Fat_N_Furry
    Yeah I usually have the color threshold at 1 and the minimum area at 1 px. everything else is at defaults. I'll try monkeying with the other settings.


    Thanks again
    Rick
    Um.... try leaving the color threshold HIGHER!

    Anything below 40 can sometimes take ages, gah.

  8. #8
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    LOL Alright, I will. I'm just a bit addicted to the high quality! hehe
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    378
    Originally posted by Fat_N_Furry
    LOL Alright, I will. I'm just a bit addicted to the high quality! hehe
    Tell me about the Geforce4 MX440 you got that has 128mb of video memory er I mean 64

  10. #10
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Here's the serial number to my Gateway 700s:

    0028153431

    I don't know how to find the specs on it - Do you know?


    Hope that helps,
    Rick
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    378
    Originally posted by Fat_N_Furry
    Here's the serial number to my Gateway 700s:

    0028153431

    I don't know how to find the specs on it - Do you know?


    Hope that helps,
    Rick
    gateway.com

    Looks like it is a Geforce 4 Ti4200 w/128mb vid ram.

    a Geforce 4 mx440 is like a geforce 2, it sucks for the good games.

  12. #12
    Child Prodigy Fat_N_Furry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    551
    Ah, yes. That's the one. I get MX and TI mixed up.
    Code:
      hobby = webDesign; waitYears(3);
      job = webDesign; this.love(job);

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center