A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: separate variables in txt file

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996

    separate variables in txt file

    I have a bunch of variables in a txt file and I want to be able to separate them a little so I can see what the hell is going on. How can I space them out.
    Right now it looks like this

    Code:
    tall=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&dom=pic0,pic1,pic2&fran=pic0,pic1,pic2&paul=pic0,pic1,pic2&sim=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&adrem=pic0,pic1,pic2&sis=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&cam=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5,pic6&damp=pic0,pic1,pic2
    There is more but just for the example I just placed a few together. I would like to have them all on there own line and maybe another line brake between them. This would help in editing down the line. Right now when I go back after a week or two away from the site I have no idea what the hell is going on for a few minutes. It’s hard to edit something that you can’t see very well.

  2. #2
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    use ampersand -

    tall=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &dom=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &fran=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &paul=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &sim=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&
    &adrem=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &sis=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &cam=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5,pic6&
    &damp=pic0,pic1,pic2&

    hth

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    So I can also do this
    Code:
    tall=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &
    &dom=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    Great it was that easy.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    Ok I have tried this and am getting a very strange layout of my buttons.
    Code:
    larissa=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &dominique=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &francesca=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &octavia=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &simone=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&
    &adriana=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &alva=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &camille=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5,pic6&
    &dionne=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &florence=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5&
    &inessa=pic0,pic1,pic2&
    &juliette=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&
    &ophelia=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&
    &rose=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3&
    &view
    all=dominique,larissa,francesca,octavia,simone,adriana,alva,camille,dionne,florence,inessa,juliette,ophelia,rose&
    Now here is my arangement of buttons that are created from this.
    Code:
    view all
    rose
    ophelia
    juliette
    inessa
    florence
    dionne
    camille
    alva
    adriana
    simone
    octavia
    francesca
    dominique
    
    
    
    larissa
    There is a big gap between dominique and larissa. This effects the layout of my buttons.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    anyone on this issue

  6. #6
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    how are you loading the variables from the text file ?
    loadVars is the reliable MX method.
    if using loadVariables, add a final pair to the text - &eof=yes&
    and do a looping check for eof=="yes" before trying to use the variables, or load to a clip and use onClipEvent(data)

    also, in Test Movie mode, use keyboard shortcut Ctrl / Alt / V
    to Show Variables and check all arrays.

    hth

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    Ok this is part of the load function I have built the rest of it separates the names from the values and then creates buttons. I didn't add this is because it might confuse everything.
    But this is the main load function

    Code:
    function loadArr(file) {
    	arr_obj = new LoadVars();
    	arr_obj.onLoad = function(success) {
    		if (success) {
    			var coll_menu_Array = new Array();
    			collectionButtArray = new Array();
    			// Loop through all the properties of this which is the arr_obj variable
    			//push every properties except the onLoad which is lumped in there wit all the rest
    			for (var i in this) {
    				// if all the rest except onload are equal to i then push them into an array
    				if (i != "onLoad") {
    					coll_menu_Array.push(i);
    					coll_menu_Array.sort();
    					trace(i);
    				}
    			}
    		}
    	};
    	arr_obj.load(file);
    }
    loadArr("arr.txt");

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    Ok this worked perfectly don't know why but it did. Maybe someone can tell me why this worked
    by using r\n it works without giving you that extra line like the ampersand does

    Code:
    view
    all=dominique,larissa,francesca,octavia,simone,adriana,alva,camille,dionne,florence,inessa,juliette,ophelia,rose
    \r\n
    &larissa=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5
    \r\n
    &dominique=pic0,pic1,pic2
    \r\n
    &francesca=pic0,pic1,pic2
    \r\n
    &octavia=pic0,pic1,pic2
    \r\n
    &simone=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3
    \r\n
    &adriana=pic0,pic1,pic2
    \r\n
    &alva=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5
    \r\n
    &camille=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5,pic6
    \r\n
    &dionne=pic0,pic1,pic2\
    \r\n
    &florence=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3,pic4,pic5
    \r\n
    &inessa=pic0,pic1,pic2
    \r\n
    &juliette=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3
    \r\n
    &ophelia=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3
    \r\n
    &rose=pic0,pic1,pic2,pic3

  9. #9
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    does this help

    function loadArr(file) {
    arr_obj = new LoadVars();
    arr_obj.onLoad = function(success) {
    if (success) {
    coll_menu_Array = new Array();
    collectionButtArray = new Array();
    for (var i in this) {
    if (i != "onLoad") {
    coll_menu_Array.push(i);
    coll_menu_Array.sort();
    isloaded = true;
    }
    }
    }
    };
    arr_obj.load(file);
    }
    loadArr("arr.txt");

    this.onEnterFrame = function(){
    if(isloaded){
    coll_menu_Array.splice(0,1);
    for (var arr=0; arr<coll_menu_Array.length;arr++){
    trace("coll_menu_Array["+arr+"] "+coll_menu_Array[arr]);
    }
    delete this.onEnterFrame;
    }
    };

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    What is this
    Code:
    for (var arr=0; arr trace("coll_menu_Array["+arr+"] "+coll_menu_Array[arr]);
    If I use this is won't work.
    I have all the varaibles loading the problem was getting rid of that extra line when they had loaded.
    and the \r\n did that for me.
    But I am interested why you used this code above.
    thanks for your replies on this

  11. #11
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    duff copy / paste remove comments // to view affect on array structure

    this.onEnterFrame = function(){
    if(isloaded){
    //coll_menu_Array.splice(0,1);
    for (var arr = 0; arr < coll_menu_Array.length; arr++){
    trace("coll_menu_Array["+arr+"] "+coll_menu_Array[arr]);
    }
    delete this.onEnterFrame;
    }
    };

    // without splice
    coll_menu_Array[0]


    coll_menu_Array[1] adriana
    coll_menu_Array[2] alva
    coll_menu_Array[3] camille
    coll_menu_Array[4] dionne
    coll_menu_Array[5] dominique
    coll_menu_Array[6] florence
    coll_menu_Array[7] francesca
    coll_menu_Array[8] inessa
    coll_menu_Array[9] juliette
    coll_menu_Array[10] larissa
    coll_menu_Array[11] octavia
    coll_menu_Array[12] ophelia
    coll_menu_Array[13] rose
    coll_menu_Array[14] simone
    coll_menu_Array[15] view all

    // with splice
    coll_menu_Array[0] adriana
    coll_menu_Array[1] alva
    coll_menu_Array[2] camille
    coll_menu_Array[3] dionne
    coll_menu_Array[4] dominique
    coll_menu_Array[5] florence
    coll_menu_Array[6] francesca
    coll_menu_Array[7] inessa
    coll_menu_Array[8] juliette
    coll_menu_Array[9] larissa
    coll_menu_Array[10] octavia
    coll_menu_Array[11] ophelia
    coll_menu_Array[12] rose
    coll_menu_Array[13] simone
    coll_menu_Array[14] view all

    hey presto : no space

    hth

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    996
    cool nice one thanks for your help on this. Now does anyone know why putting r\n after every line in the txt file got rid of that space without using the enterFrame and splice function?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center