dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dynamic HTML text fields do not display formatted text?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    Dynamic HTML text fields do not display formatted text?

    Flashkit.com,

    In Flash MX I am developing a lot of movies using dynamically populated html text fields. When the user does not have a font I used on their machine swapping happens on all dynamic and input fields. Only static fields display the corrent font. I make sure the text field properties are embedding the fonts. Still all of the dynamic html text fields do not display the formatted text. I have .fla samples I can email to anyone.

    I have tried these macromedia solutions with NO success:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...t_outlines.htm

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...namic_text.htm

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...haredfonts.htm

    Does anyone have a working sample .fla they can send me?

    -Jimmy

  2. #2
    Flashkit historian Frets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    flashkit
    Posts
    8,797
    I'm unsure about this.
    As I understand it
    If your using device fonts. then they should be the standard
    device fonts
    _sans
    _serif
    _courier

    If your using embedded fonts then you would need all characters for the font.

    What may be happening.
    ,,,,,is that you've chosen a bitmapped font(no outline to retrieve).
    And flash can't read the outline. or determine a font type grouping
    to default to.

    I'll move this to MX they might be better prepared to answer your
    question then I

    Frets
    Fonts moderator

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    14
    hello!
    try encoding your txt.files in utf8, that might help

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    Sample files

    Hi Frets,
    & CountZero2k3,

    I have put all of my sample files here:

    http://www.geocities.com/bp_tek/

    - Jimmy

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    UTF8 encoding ?

    CountZero2k3,

    My experience with UTF8 encoding is to remove the HTML < > signs and replace them with &lt &gt. Would you send a link or a file outlining the rest of the requirements.

    Thanks,
    - Jimmy

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    About the fonts used

    You will see in my sample files http://www.geocities.com/bp_tek that I used 3 fonts.

    StapleGun is for the title
    TimesNewRoman is for the paragraph
    Verdana is for the number "23"

    Most Windows OS have TimesNewRoman and Verdana font so the test here is whether or not StapleGun font appears in the .swf where it should be. You will see in the later two examples that I have static, input and dynamic fields used with samples of all these fonts labeled. The problem may be with the font StapleGun itself because it is a not a full font - it is freeware I picked up somewhere, no bold, no italic, no lowercase. Evenstill when I use StapleGun in a static field I am able to embed it. At the same time I have found when I uninstall TimesNewRoman and Verdana then those text fields have the same problem as the title and swap out for flash fonts. I am not too clear on bitmap fonts but I do not think any of these are.

    - Jimmy

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    14
    its very simple.
    just open it with "notepad.exe" or similiar programs, and then hit "file" "save as" and then choose UTF8 as format..

    well at least i did it that way, and it works..

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    MX does not read UTF8 or Unicode encoded ?

    CountZero2k3,

    I'm using notepad to write my XML tags to dynamically populate some SWFs dynamic text fields (using HTML tags), when creating the original .txt was encoded ANSI when I change to UTF8 or Unicode the tags and text no longer are read by Flash MX.

    Have any ideas what is happening? or what I should try differently?

    Thanks,
    - Jimmy

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    70
    macromedia has a technote that dynamically loaded fonts cannot be used to display dynamic or input text

    see below

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...namic_text.htm

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    detroit, mi usa
    Posts
    53

    Thanks robin

    Robinwong,

    Thanks, it is a help.

    - Jimmy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center