A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: gdstudios venting session Part I - Web Design Template sites

gdstudios venting session Part I - Web Design Template sites

This should spark up a nice debate today:

I know that these types of sites are an excellent business idea, but as a designer, I feel really cheapened when I see web design template sites. And the worst thing about them is that, today, they even produce attractive templates. Years ago, template sites only offered crappy-looking designs, but this latest worries me slightly. I spend weeks making a good custom design, these template people spend weeks making ten designs. Some of these new template sites are actually winning web awards. Imagine that, template sites winning design awards. Isn't it ironic...

Like I said, it is a sound business move to make these sites, but it frustrates me the same as a designer. Knowing that making even one of these types of sites shouldn't be this easy makes me a bit concerned for the design industry. Next thing we know there will be 2Advanced inspired templates out there and, God forbid, Whoswe-inspired templates. I'm saying this: If FWA gives a favorite site award to any of these template sites it will really show just how bad things have gotten. I hope it doesn't happen. FIGHT THE TEMPLATE!

Two recent award-winning template sites:
    http://www.ultravertex.com/
    http://www.designgalaxy.net/

hmm.. and i thought about starting an Template site

I Mastered Dead Technology TallGuyLittleCar's Avatar
    part of my job is occasionally taking a website generated by something and fixing it to work with out the backend.

its a friggen nightmare. I also occasionally get to fix front page sites. o friggen joy.
    ONLY RON PAUL AND ALUMINUM FOIL CAN SAVE YOU NOW!
    annoy your politician fairtax.org, a political forum

Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabris, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam.

Señor member