dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Tell target on loeded movie clips??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9

    Tell target on loaded movie clips??

    I have loaded a seperate swf using the load movie command, I was wandering how and if I can use the tell target command to make this swf go to a certain frame when I click a button.

    I obviously know how to do this with a standard movie clip but wasn't sure how to do it with an imported one......

    Cheers

    Neill(www.designattik.co.uk)
    Last edited by ncartlidge; 05-02-2003 at 04:55 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Utrecht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    184
    I wouldn't use the tellTarget command as it is deprecated. Use the dot syntax instead.

    If you loaded the swf into let's say 'containerMC' which is placed on the main timeline you can use:
    Code:
    _root.containerMC.gotoAndPlay(frame);
    Cheers, Flashmatazz

    evolving RSS reader

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    9
    Cheers, but if I do that it would take me to the relevant frame of containerMC and not the loaded movie within containerMC if you know what I mean....

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Utrecht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    184
    Not when you've loaded an external swf into it.
    In the AS dictionary when you look up the loadMovie command it says:
    You can use the target path of the movie clip to target the loaded movie.
    Cheers, Flashmatazz

    evolving RSS reader

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center