A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Loading images from .swf

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8

    Loading images from .swf

    Hello people!

    I need help on this:
    is it possible to load images into a swf movie dinamically while it is played?
    For example if I have a movie that calls a php file for having a file name as result (stored in a variable in Flash), how can I then load that file (which of course is an image!) into the swf?

    Maybe other Macromedia or third party software is needed to have Flash doing this?


    What I need to do is an application that allows users to upload images and then the possibility of loading them into a flash control panel on the website.
    The first part (upload) will be done in PHP, but I'm not sure about the second part (loading the uploaded images into the swf!).

    Thanks a lot in advance, this is important to me!

    - Shiver -

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    109
    if it's important to u than it's important for us..
    -dont get comfortable, just public relations -

    first create an empty MC and place it inside your main MC. instance name it as "pictureArea"..you will loadMovie your jpgs inside this MC.

    myJpg="someVariable"+".jpg"
    myURL="http:\\www.directorywhereyouuploadimages.com"+"/"+myJpg
    loadMovie(myURL,"_root.pictureArea")

    that's it.

    if anything unclear reply this thread..I'll follow up.
    To actionscripting and beyond!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8
    Cristal clear!


    Thnx a lot!!

    P.S. works in Fl.5 too?

    - Shiver -

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    works in Fl. 5 too?
    not really, but all you need is flash player 6 - you can still build the movie with F5 but have to test in browser.
    In fact, since the overall application might make use of a php session, you had better test in browser anyway.

    Musicman

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8
    I see.
    Yes, of course the testing will be done with files on the web server and browser player (ver.6), but what was important for me is that the swf file could be produced by F5 (I haven't uprgaded to MX yet).

    I guess I have to code the actionscript in expert mode in F5.

    Well, thanks a lot again!

    - Shiver -

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8
    Oops... one more thing:
    what image formats are supported by loadMovie?
    jpg, gif and png?


    - Shiver -

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,041
    Hi,

    it is just jpg (and no progressive ones either). Other formats still require a server script for packaging

    Musicman

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    8
    Oh! That's a problem!

    Any suggestion about packaging them?

    - Shiver -

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    109
    what is packing problem?
    never tried to upload sth using php or else...so can u tell me a bit about the problem pls...or the link explaining the topic.

    thnx
    To actionscripting and beyond!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center