dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Flash Shoutbox/TagBoard Scripting-PleaseHelp

  1. #1
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151

    Flash Shoutbox/TagBoard Scripting-PleaseHelp

    _+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_
    Hey...I need help with the script for making a ShoutBox. Until now I have only used bits and pieces of ActionS to use for my animations but i would like to get more into scripting. I was hoping someone could be very helpful by giving me a head start by telling me how to start.HAHA...I know there isn't much to go on...But i know you all like challenges sometimes.

    --PS--I already have the Visual part down..meaning i have the input boxes made.

    -----------------------------
    What My ShoutBox has
    +++++++
    A Name Input Box
    A Url Input Box
    A Shout/Hello Input Box
    Button to Submit
    Button to Reset
    -----------------------------
    PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!



    THANKS IN ADVANCE
    --Witmer777
    _+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    Well, it seems to me that you already know what you're doing, but you're scared of the ActionScript...


    Basically, you've already defined the variables you need to "Submit" (myName, myURL, myShout.) Now, you need to figure out where those variables are going to GO! Will they be stored in a local or remote database? A text file on a server? Do you plan to submit them via PHP/ASP/CFM?

    Once you figure out where these variables will be GOING, then you'll have a better idea of what to do. Simply put, you'll only have to send 3 variables to a receiver...now just decide on a receiver.


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  3. #3
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151

    Your Right

    I am scared of Action Script...im getting good at animation..but I didn't know where to start here...thanks so much for your help. And I think im going to submit it using php. Umm..what do you mean by reciever?? the php? or the website?

  4. #4
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151

    sorry!

    oh...sorry about the double post...i deleted it.

  5. #5
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    The PHP page would be the "receiver", meaning it would receive the variables submitted from your Flash movie.

    I'm not a PHP junkie, unfortunately, so I wont be able to help on this end, but basically, you need to make your PHP page catch the submitted variables, and then deal with them appropriately such as dumping the values into a database.


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  6. #6
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    Ok..im young and nieve...lol...i have no idea what a database is?? and is there any other reciever your familiar with that you could help me?

  7. #7
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    OK....Someone else please help me...im still stuck

  8. #8
    Lifesaver Lightwave Network's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    649
    Hehe, sorry I didn't get back to ya yesterday.

    Try http://www.devguru.com for information on ASP, VBScript and other basic web languages. http://www.phpaddict.com , http://www.phpworld.com , and http://www.phphelp.com for PHP information.

    And, as for a Database: a database is simply a series of rows and columns (a table) that contains multiple records of a similar type. Your system registry is a database (click Start, Run, type "REGEDIT" and click OK--don't change anything--just look.) An easy Database editing program is Microsoft Access (comes with Office package.) It's simply for storing data. No files, no graphics, no sounds--just data (like names, addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, etc.)


    ... gimme just one more line of code to ease the pain.

    http://www.ln.tv
    http://www.davevillano.com
    http://www.premierloftsdenver.com
    http://www.backyard.cc -- coming soon!


  9. #9
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    is MySQL a database??? I know you've helped me alot..but i no virtually no scripting beyond the stop and gotoandplay features..so i have no idea what to do.

    Thanks so much for your help already!

  10. #10
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    hey, i think i can help, but need clarification on what a Shoutbox is.. forgive my ignorance....

    -myk

  11. #11
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    sorry, didnt see the attachment up top.. will take a look..

    -myk

  12. #12
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    thanks in advance...And a shoutbox(thats just what i call it) is just something that you type in your name/your homepage/and a comment/and then you hit submit(or shout(hence the name)) and it shows above the input boxes

  13. #13
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    here's a start.. What i've scripted will collect the form info and send it to a PHP script that you must specify...
    i gave instance names to the buttons, as well as the input text boxes so we can access the .text properties of the box...
    placed on(release) actions on each of the buttons that refer to function on the new "scripts" layer, first frame...


    here's the revised FLA

    -myk
    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #14
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    Dude...thank you soo much. Okay...question-is there anyway to make the information show in the area above the input boxes?

  15. #15
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    yeah. Do you want something scrollable where you can view all data that was entered, or just confirmation that everything is type correctly?

    -myk

  16. #16
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    okay, this example is kinda silly, but check it out anyway...
    i commented out all the script to actually submit this to a server, just for the sake of testing the text thang....
    here you go
    Attached Files Attached Files

  17. #17
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    Hmmm...Confirmation...then it goes to the thing thats scrollable.
    _____
    this is what i want it to look like when the information is confirmed and viewable...


    Name(and it has the url in it so when you click it..it's goes to the url stated)comment after the collon)

    so:


    steve:how are you doing
    ______________________
    bob:im fine
    ______________________
    mykrob:hey guys how ya doing?


    do you get it? again..you are soooooo cool.

  18. #18
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    that one will take me a minute or two..I know how to make Flash collect the data and send it to a script, and i know how to make flash receive info from an external source. I'm gonna have to look up the PHP to get all this dumped to a text file or a database or something...
    The server you're planning to run this on, do they support PHP?


    -myk

  19. #19
    Hello...? Is Anybody Here...? Witmer777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Downingtown
    Posts
    151
    hmm...well..i use tripod sadly enough...but soon i'll be buying a good host. So if tripod doesn't have it..the host i buy will definately have it.

  20. #20
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    take a look at www.globat.com..
    that's who i use, and its $7.50/mo for 1GB of space.. they also support PHP and mySQL (free database!)
    their current promo claims to end on 05/16/03, but the have kept it up for the past month or two... They keep restarting it.

    -myk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center