dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: javascript communicating to flash

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    69

    javascript communicating to flash

    I know you can use setVariable in javascript to set a variable in the flash movie. Just wondering if there is a way from javascript calling a flash function in the flash movie?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    69
    thanks for that. But I looked through the list of javaScript flash, it looks like calling a function in flash directly is not possible. You can only set varibles in flash from javascript. So you would have to use something like onEnterFrame to keep checking a variable to see if it had been updated from javascript or not?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well the way I see it, depends on what you're really trying to do!
    I would imagine that sending the Flash movie to a particular frame (from javscript) where a function is called, that function would be executed, no?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    69
    oh yeah, good stuff, never thought of that

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    I'm old so I have a lot of time for thoughts!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center