A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help: How to load *external* images

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    22

    Help: How to load *external* images

    I'm developing a site that contains a photo gallary.. The site also contains other info so i dont want to make the users wait for the WHOLE site to load when they aren't gonna be using it... So how do i make it so that the picture files only load when they need to? I'm still using flash 5... Havn't gotten acustomed to MX yet..


    Thanks guys
    Flash Newbie... Aw i hate being a newbie

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Isle of Man
    Posts
    18
    I have been trying to find out if you can use loadMovie to load jpgs in flash 5 but have been unsuccessful.

    You certainly can in flash MX.

    Have a look in the help files to see what types of files you can load into your movie using loadMovie.

    If you can use this for jpgs then dont load them 'till you need to.
    Nothing could be worse than to be completely understood.

  3. #3
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    targetClip.loadMovie("a.jpg");
    can be used in Flash5, but the end-user must have the latest player version installed (6.0.79) to view the result.
    as this cannot be guaranteed, place each image in its own swf file and use -
    targetClip.loadMovie("a.swf");

    hth

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    22
    Great guys thanks... one more thing.. i've tried the load movie deal before but had the hardest of time trying to manipulate it... Like it would only be in the upper right when it'sloaded and i can't seem to move it around...


    Any tips?
    Flash Newbie... Aw i hate being a newbie

  5. #5
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    my preference is loading to a level in the player session -
    loadMovieNum("a.swf", 999);

    on the first frame of a.fla -

    this._x=50; this._y=100;

    this will load at those x/y properties to the main movie,

    hth

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    22
    oh great man thanks alot...
    Flash Newbie... Aw i hate being a newbie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center