dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Mask wipe

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    262

    Mask wipe

    Hello
    Can somebody please look at the included files, something strange happening.
    Henk
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    63
    Do you get a black box appear with the 2 wipe version? That's what I get. Looks like a bug, better report it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    I do see the black box that appears in the second version but what exactly is the problem you're having.

    The first version seems to work fine...Just use that one?

    Give me us a little more detail to your problem and the gurus of this board will help.
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    Is this what you were trying to do?

    Mask Example

    If it is, you just needed to correct your proceedures.

    I've also attached the movie file.
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    262
    That's the same as my first example which works fine. The point is when you let the first effect follow by a wipe out a black square appears where the wipe out effect should be. I 've send the files to support already.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    Ok, I'm lost, both files you've sent are the same.

    What are you trying to figure out?

    I thought you were having a problem with the mask but you obviously are not. Then I thought it was a problem with the movie replaying and putting the black box there, HOWEVER, it doesn't happen on my side.

    OOOOH, I think I know what you're trying to do.

    Are you trying to hide the text after it's uncovered?
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    Ok....How about this?

    Mask then hide text

    If this is what you wanted, you added and extra hide in your original file.

    Here are the files

    BTW - I stopped the file instead of looping it to show you the effect. If you want to loop it, just delete the STOP.
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    262
    Originally posted by dniezby
    Ok....How about this?

    Mask then hide text

    If this is what you wanted, you added and extra hide in your original file.

    Here are the files

    BTW - I stopped the file instead of looping it to show you the effect. If you want to loop it, just delete the STOP.
    Let me explain:
    You create a text, next you give a mask wipe show wipe right effect;
    then next a mask wipe hide wipe left. So just two actions, one following the other.(The square flying in is just decoration)
    In the preview window it works almost right(after the first loop the text shows up just before the first action starts).
    Then export the movie to swf.
    Play the swf and look what is happening.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    OK THIS !!!????

    Right then Left
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    262
    Originally posted by dniezby
    OK THIS !!!????

    Right then Left
    That's a nice way of solving the problem, ( you used mask move with a separate mask) but it is not an answer to the way the new mask wipe behaves; can you explain the way mask2.swf in my zipfile behaves?

    BTW what version are you using? I am talking about version 4 beta 6.
    Last edited by henkvg; 06-06-2003 at 06:21 PM.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    Yes, it behaves badly.

    The problem as I see it is that the second mask is NOT moving.

    I tested it several ways and it does the same thing.

    If you look at the example that I sent back to you, I move the same maske twice to create the effect.
    If I were to make a second mask and move that one...The same result would happen.

    OOOO! I just got an idea.... I'll be back
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tinley Park, IL
    Posts
    702
    Nevermind...It didn't work.

    I'd say, you're better off using the actual steps with multiple masks if you're going to do something like that.

    The built in effects seem to work great as long as you only use them once. If you use more than one, then the program doesn't seem to know which mask you're talking about.
    My Sites: Gaming Site Nightshade Studios MyKM Tutorials

    --------------------------------------------------
    What I'm using: Gimp, Koolmoves, Sepy, HTML-Kit, Inkscape

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    262
    Originally posted by dniezby
    Nevermind...It didn't work.

    I'd say, you're better off using the actual steps with multiple masks if you're going to do something like that.

    The built in effects seem to work great as long as you only use them once. If you use more than one, then the program doesn't seem to know which mask you're talking about.
    Hey Dniezby, thanks for all the effort. I just wanted to get some attention for a possible bug. If a new possibility is integrated in the program, you expect it to work without limitations, and because it is a beta there will always be things that don't work properly, but I am fully confident the problem will be solved.
    Cheers

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    136

    another mask example

    Your Mask then Wipe Left looks great to me but the next link was page uanavailable. Which version did you mean?


    Off your topic but still Mask related,

    Here's a use for the mask in a movie which also allows actionscript on elements under the mask to keep the elements together.

    The mask is the gunners nightscope target-system for an Abrams Tank in a night scene. Under the mask are gif images to create the close-up optical view of the landscape and enemy tanks. Also included are two gifs which are the elevation and bearing of the enemy, shown in the scope and changes 0-360 as the turret is rotated.

    The mouse is used as the gun control with the mouse off-center and a delay in updating the screen which makes it harder to place the red kill-box on the enemy and makes it more realistic I think.


    A screen shot is shown here and the other elements are in a zip in the next post.

    This screen shot is also "range1.jpg" in the movie as the zip file is too big to include it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    136
    here is the zip file for the movie, and use range1.jpg from above
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center