dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: flash site not working on MAC

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    flash site not working on MAC

    weird... we've almost finished the site and now we cant seem to get it to work on ANY macs at all.. I've tried ll the MAcs and work and at freinds houses and I cant get it to show up.. its like the plugins aren't there it just shows a blank white box where the flash is suppose to be... Ive even tried it on internet explorer and netscape (on a mac) and I still cant get it to go?

    anyone seen anything liek this? are there any standard requirments I need to not do with my implemtation of my flash file?? I'm lost!

    www.medianstudios.com



    Help!
    thanks,

    RObert Szyszlo


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    825
    make sure that the most recent version of Flash Player is installed...

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    hehe

    thanks for the tip... too bad I alreay thought that one through

    I think its more a long these lines, for those who have this same problem. (I found it in the FAQ on the macs section)

    __________________________________________________ ______________

    Q9. I have the right version Flash Player/Plugin, why doesn't my movie work?

    A. You need to increase the memory allocated to the application.

    This is only relevant to OS 9 and previous users, OS X dynamically allocates memory.

    Select the application that is running the flash movie (e.g. Flash Player, Internet Explorer etc.) in the Finder.
    Go to the File menu and choose "Get Info".
    An information window for the selected application appears, choose memory from the dropdown menu.
    Increase the "Preferred Size" box by 1000.
    e.g. 800KB --> 1800KB
    Depending on the size of your movie, it may need more, but keep the order of magnitude you increase by in the thousands initially.

    [SJT]

    __________________________________________________ ___________________

    Hope this works, I'll try it tonight at work, thanks again!


    -Robert Szyszlo

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    haha!

    no heres the question... How do I explain that to all mac users that need to view my site ??

    -RObert

  5. #5
    add an html link under the movie that says something along the lines of:

    "Site not showing up? Click here for help"

    And link it to a help page that has links to plugin sites, browser site and other information that would be helpful, such as Mac OS9 users may need to increase thier applications memory.

    j

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    130
    I believe the problem is in your HTML and not with the .swf
    Have you tried just loading the .swf straight into Explorer without all the other HTML tags? Open IE and go to File>Open then select your .swf
    If it works then its not a problem with that and I'd look at your HTML code/////
    pre'zet

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    Youre right..

    I do remeber getting the .swf file to work on a mac, and I did think it was my html, but I have no other ideas of how to do my html.. I believe that las bit of code is a php script (no working) for a counter, so I dont think that has anything to do with it.. dose it??





    Thanks!



    -Robert

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    130
    zip it all up, make a link here and i'll have a look. but i can't promise anything....
    pre'zet

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    S*PORE!
    Posts
    56
    Noticed that your main SWF name has spaces in it... that could be the reason for the problem with the html on a mac...?

    It could be a problem with the base attribute, cos Mac browsers tend to resolve relative urls differently esp when loading in external movies... try specifying a base attribute:
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...ts/tn4157.html

    ling

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    131
    well,


    using safari with OS X 10.2.6 it seems to load but doesn't display anything after it's done.

    by chance i tried the contextual menu which showed something i haven't really seen before
    see attached pic - it's german, but the grey text says "movie not loaded"
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    ok

    I tired taking out the spacing in the name.. see if that works I dont have a mac, only at work so I wouldn't be able to test it yet.

    ALso I found this in my code.
    -----
    <embed src="medianflashsiteCHarlie.swf"
    -----
    WE aren't even using a .swf with this name and it still is "embedding" it... could the macs not display the whole flash intell it finds this file???



    also, my .swf is too big, becuae we haven't fixed the music player where its in a serarete swf file, so all the music is stored in one

    heres the html
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    hmmm..

    I tried doning actaul urls and all that.. still no go.. what now?? any ideas?

    !!!



    -Robert

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    825
    post the html code you are using in the page

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    here she is

    Download the html filke above.. I dont know how to turn html viewing off or else you wont see my code :(



    Thanks

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    hmm..

    **edit** actually.. heres the newset html
    Attached Files Attached Files

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    91
    works fine on my mac. OSX 10.2.6, Internert Explorer

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    hmmm!!

    well.. if it works on mac os 10+ then could it be a allocated memory problem?

    Argh.. I've never had this much trouble on getting something to be compatiable.. expecially in flash.. its suppose to be universal!!! hahaha






    Thanks!

    Robert

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    hmmm

    pre zet.. I'm surious to see f you came up with anything?? or anyone??



    I hate this..



    -Robert

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    21
    I assume you fixed this? Works fine for me in OS X and Safari, as well as in IE in OS 9.
    [swf width="300" height="40" background="#003366"]http://www2.trincoll.edu/~agallisa/footer.swf[/swf]

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    29

    ...

    well, your the first person to say this


    I dunno, I haven't fixed it since my last couple of posts and I never go t to work right at work.. maybe I did??

    lol, dose it seem to be working for anyone else?


    -Robert

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center