dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: help please! Button sound problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6

    help please! Button sound problem

    i have 5 individual buttons and each has a different sound when you press down on it. i put the sounds on the DOWN part of the button timeline. When i press each soundthey play but they dont cancel eachother out and end up playing together. it sucks....What i want to know, is there a certain action script to program these buttons to work the way they should be working. Im pretty inexperienced with flash and im just starting to learn. THANK YOU for all your help. Below is the link the flash so you can see, or HEAR for yourself.... THANK YOU

    www.angelfire.com/apes/bananarock/CANDELA_.swf

    Scott

    the_dook@iamwasted.com

  2. #2
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    take the sound out of the button timeline.
    open the library and give each sound a linkage identifier- ss1, ss2, ss3....
    on each button, attach the sound and stop the others

    Button#1 -
    on(press){
    s1 = new Sound();
    s1.attachSound("ss1");
    s1.start();

    s2.stop();
    s3.stop(); // and so on
    }

    Button#2 -
    on(press){
    s2 = new Sound();
    s2.attachSound("ss2");
    s2.start();

    s1.stop();
    s3.stop(); // and so on
    }

    hth

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6
    thanx for the help...but this actually didnt work right...

    when i clicked on the first button it played fine....right when i pressed a second button the sound stopped but the second button didnt play. Then nothing would play at all after that. not even the first button.

    another thing is that when you press a button twice the sound plays twice at a time... any help from anyone is well appreciated.

    Scott

    the_dook@iamwasted.com

  4. #4
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176
    my bad

    have an empty movieclip per button to attach the sounds individually to timelines and it will work, ie clip names mc1,mc2...

    on(press){
    s1 = new Sound(mc1);
    s1.attachSound("ss1");
    s1.start();

    s2.stop();
    s3.stop(); // and so on
    }

    on(press){
    s2 = new Sound(mc2);
    s2.attachSound("ss2");
    s2.start();

    s1.stop();
    s3.stop(); // and so on
    }

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    6
    you know what?

    this still doesnt work. Ok....i made movie clips mc1, mc2, mc3 etc.. and attached the linked sounds ss1, ss2, to the corresponding movie clips and added the mc1, mc2 etc to the action script and still the same results....sorry....but this isnt working for me... unless im totally doing something wrong. thank you for help.

    scott

    the_dook@iamwasted.com

  6. #6
    FK'n_dog a_modified_dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    "aaarf"
    Posts
    9,176

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center