dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: a windowless flash? anyone knows how?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27

    a windowless flash? anyone knows how?

    hi guys, i need to do an index page that when the user clicks on it, a windowless flash appears. does anyone know how to do that?

    a windowless flash, nothing, just the flash. including the unique edges and border of the flash.

    i searched everywhere but can't find a tutorial.

    any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

  2. #2
    Head Child n-gen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    442
    windowless pages are considered black magic around these parts. move along or some hardcore designer could come and scream

    ~~~~~~~~You HAVE BEEN Warned~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    p.s. i have been trying to find out the same thing. dont tell anyone
    freshly squeezed media

  3. #3
    Senior Member pellepiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    15,151
    Dont think its possible online. The projectors from www.northcode.com can make any shape though.

    -Pelle Piano
    // Image Gallery
    www.studiobild.com
    // Photo Blog
    http://talesofthepixel.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Transparent Flash movie on a higher division... Check the Flash face here over and under html content...

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...t_scrollmx.htm

    Check the html source. Works with IE. Don't know if it works with other browsers and/or on Macs.

    As for transparent movies, check this:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...ents/wmode.htm

  5. #5
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    I don't think that it's what Jennifer was trying to get. If I understood correctly she is trying to make window without borders and with only flash inside, wich is possible, even more it isn't very hard. You just have to use javscript popup to open chrome window and loose your margins (on popup). But i don't know the code right now (basicaly you just have to set full screen and than trick your browser to resize). I will find your code these days, but you could serch some javascript sites yourself and find "chrome window". I must warn you that it is working only on Internet explorer.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Do you see any borders on my Flash face movie?

    Chromeless windows only work on IE.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    Originally posted by Bzdero
    I don't think that it's what Jennifer was trying to get. If I understood correctly she is trying to make window without borders and with only flash inside, wich is possible, even more it isn't very hard. You just have to use javscript popup to open chrome window and loose your margins (on popup). But i don't know the code right now (basicaly you just have to set full screen and than trick your browser to resize). I will find your code these days, but you could serch some javascript sites yourself and find "chrome window". I must warn you that it is working only on Internet explorer.
    i wonder how u do that. some help/links please.

  8. #8
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    In your first html page put this lines between
    Last edited by enpstudios; 06-30-2003 at 11:04 AM.

  9. #9
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    Originally posted by jennifer83
    i wonder how u do that. some help/links please.
    I made a mistake by posting original html code in reply and i blocked this thread. Waiting for moderators!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    huh??

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    LOL

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    170
    you can use a chromeless and remove all the edges. You won't be able to move it anywhere though.

  13. #13
    Living Proof mave_the_rave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    East Dulwich
    Posts
    1,006
    .
    If someone tells you it can't be done,
    it's probally because they don't know how.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    damn, it still stuck at Bzdero's post. moderators??

    and how do you do chromeless?

  15. #15
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    I won't post more code here. Download zip and inside is html file that lounches chrome window. Change "Blabla.html" with url you want to put in chromeless window.
    And you CAN move it, just some simple javascript. You can move it even from flash movie inside chrome window.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Bzdero; 06-30-2003 at 01:47 PM.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    Originally posted by Bzdero
    I won't post more code here. Download zip and inside is html file that lounches chrome window. Change "Blabla.html" with url you want to put in chromeless window.
    And you CAN move it, just some simple javascript. You can move it even from flash movie inside chrome window.
    doesn't work.
    all i get is chromeless fullscreen.


  17. #17
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    I told you that it only works for Internet explorer!

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    Originally posted by Bzdero
    I told you that it only works for Internet explorer!
    oops, i'm using IE 6.

  19. #19
    Registered User Bzdero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Split, Croatia
    Posts
    488
    If you are using IE 6 then it should work!

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    27
    can't work. anyone else tried this?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center