dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: printing

  1. #1
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    printing

    how do i specify which frame i want to print?

    I have made a movie which will print content on a frame if the content is on the same frame as the button........

    what code would i use if for example i have 2 buttons on frame 3, button one prints the content on frame 4 and button 2 prints the content on frame 5 (the content isn't viewable, it's just there for printing)

    is this possible or can i only print if the content is on the same frame as the button?

    cheers

    thanking you


  2. #2
    reMember
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73

    label this

    make a frame label called #p
    (on whatever frame you want to print.)

    button actions:

    on (release){
    print("0", "bframe");
    }

    that one way of doing it.

    try this to
    http://www.macromedia.com/software/f...oad/index.html

  3. #3
    webdesigner Marek Binkowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    142
    you can put the printable content in two different movieClips, and then use the print() function to print the content of the movieClip you choose. This way you can make many different printable documents and let user choose (with buttons) which one to print.
    marek binkowski
    webdesign ::: www.ampo.com.pl


  4. #4
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150
    To this answer........
    Originally posted by sbmoussa
    make a frame label called #p
    (on whatever frame you want to print.)

    button actions:

    on (release){
    print("0", "bframe");
    }

    that one way of doing it.
    Are you saying that if I have (for example) 3 frames with content that i want printed, i have to label each frame with #P? I'm not sure I understand how the content on a specific frame is called. How for example do i script it to print the image/content on frame 2 but not 3 or 4. The buttons are all on frame one and the other content is hidden on different frames. I hope that makes sense.


    As for this answer..........
    Originally posted by Marek Binkowski
    you can put the printable content in two different movieClips, and then use the print() function to print the content of the movieClip you choose. This way you can make many different printable documents and let user choose (with buttons) which one to print.
    .......how do i do that? I tried using this script

    on (release) {
    print("_root.page2", "bmovie");
    }
    but it didn't work. it printed page1 everytime. I named the instance page1, page2, page 3 etc.


    all help appreciated

    cheers
    miffy

  5. #5
    reMember
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73
    Hi,

    If you have a file I can look at that you can upload, I can help further.


  6. #6
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150
    that'd be great.....where can i find the file?


    cheers

    miffy



    sorry ahahaha i misread that.......i need to post a file...ok

    gotchya....i'll organise one soon
    Last edited by miffy; 07-06-2003 at 11:17 PM.

  7. #7
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150
    Ok....sorry about misreading the last post. Hopefully i'll get this one right

    Cheers

    Thanking you
    miffy

    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    reMember
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73

    this should help

    I enhanced the for you, let me know if you understand it or have any more questions.

    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by sbmoussa; 07-07-2003 at 12:49 AM.

  9. #9
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150
    Thank you sooooooooo very much sbmoussa

    now I understand


    cheers
    miffy

  10. #10
    reMember
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73

    great

    no problomo,

    I too was stuck in that printing rut,
    good luck.


  11. #11
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150
    Actually i do have one question.........can I make it frame specific or is that not a good idea?

    for example i noticed the printable section started on the second frame of each movie clip. if a mc is set up so it has different images on different frames can i set it up to print a specific frame such as frame4 or is it best to just make different clips for each image?

    Do you know what i mean?

    getting there

    cheers
    miffy

    Last edited by miffy; 07-07-2003 at 01:19 AM.

  12. #12
    reMember
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73

    well

    you can place the #p anywhere you want frame-wise , but you must keep in mind that it will print whatever content you have on that corrisponding frame.


    For images...umm.. you can loadMovie into targets...
    i think thats what your're asking. But to play it safe make different clips for each image

  13. #13
    Miss Understood miffy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    i think so too

    I think it's best to make different clips too....seems easier

    thanks for all your help

    :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center