dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: scrolling dynamic text problem and more

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39

    scrolling dynamic text problem and more

    Okay can someone give me the basics to do this. I thought that I had it but the outside source won't show up at all into the text box. I put it into the same folder and everything. Any advice would be awesome.


    also...is there a way to scroll a text box with a mouse roller thing? I'm sorry I'm not sure what it's called but the roller ontop of the mouse. If so could you post the code or a link to it. Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Senior Member asdfghjkl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    154
    It's called a scroll weal, and Flash 4,5,MX dosen't support this.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    A link?

    What are you using to load the text file?

    Any masks, tweens envolved?

  4. #4
    Senior Member asdfghjkl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    154
    sorry I don't get what you mean, or said

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39
    hahaha sorry I'm retarded

    okay...I have a text box that I want text to load into dynamically from an outside source. I also have a scroller on this text box. I cant seem to get my outside text to load into my movie with the scroller.

    my other question was apparently about a scroll wheel and if there was a way to scroll with it in flash once my text finally loads into my movie.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Well you still haven't posted some code, or a link... So can't really answer your first question...

    I'd say check these...

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...ng_text_mx.htm
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...t_scrollmx.htm

    As for the mouse wheel, don't think it works in Flash, but I could be wrong!

  7. #7
    Senior Member asdfghjkl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    154
    ok
    <LI> Make a text box has dynamic, let's call it (variable) "data".</LI>

    <LI> On the same frame type has action:loadVariablesNum("data.txt", 0);
    Play();</LI>

    <LI> on the data.txt file, type in "&data=" (without the " ") then after the "=" type our message.</LI>
    NOTE: you might say why i need to add "&" befor the variable name, cause it allows you to place some text on multiple text fields


    <LI>Skip a frame, to allow Flash to load the file</LI>

    <LI>And on the tird fram put your dynamic text with it's scroll bar</LI>

    If yu don't get it: See attachment
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Ummmmmm!

    Using bullets as you are in Flash?

    BTW, LoadVars(), is now much better than loadVariables!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    39
    thanks a lot for the help. I'll attach my mistake if this doesn't work hahaha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center