A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: swf opening in new window

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    the desert of the real
    Posts
    79

    swf opening in new window

    hi, this is probably a very old question....
    BUT

    How do you open a new window containing flash movie 2??? from within your movie 1???

    The thing is my movies are opening in a browser with geturl (obviously)
    and i just want another window. (With a set size would be cool)

    I am creating a CD (exe) and im not sure if all the users will have a browser...
    These are really simple questions I know...but WHO ELSE DO I ASK?!

    Thanks guys!
    T
    there was a man born inside, able to change things, it was he who freed the first of us ....

  2. #2
    Junior Member scudsucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    1,509
    I dont think there is anyone in the world without a browser these days, even those sad people who still use Windoze 3.1.

    Therefore you can use a pop-up menu-less window containing the swf,
    there is an extensive toolkit on flash-db.com, in the lirary'tools section, click on JS Generator.

    It creates the code for your button for any possible pop-up.
    Hariyemadzisawira nhaka yedu! Down the SCUD and win!
    I'm too lazy to read Private Messages.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    the desert of the real
    Posts
    79

    no html file

    any clue on how to open a pop up from an exe though?
    This site is quite helpful...but im not having my movie in a html file...which is what is required to use this generator.
    there was a man born inside, able to change things, it was he who freed the first of us ....

  4. #4
    Junior Member scudsucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    1,509
    Its the same getURL as on the web. It will load the browser, and the broser will load the document ( in this case, the .swf ) from wherever you stipulate.

    So, if your .exe is at the root of your CD, and your .swf is in a folder called 'flash' on a button, then use this code:
    Code:
    on (release) {
    getURL ("javascript:NewWindow=window.open('flash/mySwf.swf','newWin','width=100,height=200,left=0,top=0,toolbar=No,location=No,scrollbars=No,status=No,resizable=No,fullscreen=No');  NewWindow.focus();      void(0);");
    }
    It will create a 100 x 200 window, no toolbar or scrollbars, with the swf in it.
    Hariyemadzisawira nhaka yedu! Down the SCUD and win!
    I'm too lazy to read Private Messages.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    the desert of the real
    Posts
    79
    cool
    thanks a mill
    there was a man born inside, able to change things, it was he who freed the first of us ....

  6. #6
    Junior Member scudsucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    1,509
    !!!! just make sure you remove the space in javascript
    Hariyemadzisawira nhaka yedu! Down the SCUD and win!
    I'm too lazy to read Private Messages.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center