dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: onEnterFrame give.feedback.on_mySite

  1. #1
    Captain Caveman
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    68

    onEnterFrame give.feedback.on_mySite

    It's been a while since ive made a completely flashed site and i'd just like to know what you other people think. I just had a crazy idea concept and went with it and this is what i came up with

    www.toddbeaz.com

    oh and i still need to make a crazy preloader to go with it (which im having trouble with grrr!!)

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    India Chennai
    Posts
    39
    Nice one but work on it to make it proffesional
    http://www.feathermax.com Creative Web solutions

  3. #3
    FK's official coffee addict gasbag15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,867
    onSiteEvent(view){
    site = "needs more work";
    }

  4. #4
    onSiteEvent(view){
    speed = "too slow";
    solution = "increase framerate";
    }

  5. #5
    insane root
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    55
    seems to me like it's to "anime"'ish... it's hard to explain heh... but seems more like a jap anime kind of site to me... don't ask me why, because I wouldnt be able to tell ya heh :X


    works great though... if it's what you like... then keep it

  6. #6
    Captain Caveman
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    68

    framerate

    whats a good framerate to use?
    and then I found 5 dollars

  7. #7
    FK's official coffee addict gasbag15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,867
    30fps

    If(speed < 30fps){
    tellTarget(_root.site){
    speed = 30fps;
    }
    }
    Last edited by gasbag15; 08-04-2003 at 01:56 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    225
    Ya :: 30FPS should be a good frame speed :: your sites nice :: I would give it more depth :: add shadows in certain areas ::

  9. #9
    one eyed queenslander big daddy bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brisbane QLD
    Posts
    134

    preloader

    Spent a while looking a blank screen - hate that

    Really need a preloader to let users know something is coming, otherwise they will depart. I also found that when you selected from the menu, the transition was extremly slow and not very gracefull. Do you use the ease in/out when tweening? if not, do.
    Cheers mate

    Big daddy

    http://www.bluesquaremedia.com.au

  10. #10
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    Yea, it's VERY slow on my G4 mac. The sound will always play before. As far as the spinning nav, not a good idea, shouldn't have to wait for it to cycle around again, users like instant access.
    L. Jones
    www.urbansory.com

  11. #11
    Captain Caveman
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    68
    i like all the feedback fellas, but if you're gonna say "needs more work" i'd appreciate the specifics. this is my first 'real' attempt at a flash site so I'll need all the help i can get.. and a preloader is on the way. and mannnn i kinda like the spinning nav.. 4 buttons! 8 total 2x each one so you dont have to wait long dammit! haha, any pointers on how to make sure it runs smoother?? cuz it runs friggin slow on this sh**box p3 i have to use to design on!! i cant even see it run smoothly unless its on low quality!! GOD i need a new computer

    -tb

    send more feedback! this is great!
    and then I found 5 dollars

  12. #12
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    what are you using to make it run? If you have a lot of enterframes going, it will slow down things considerably. If it is a motion tween, I would switch it to actionscript.
    L. Jones
    www.urbansory.com

  13. #13
    Captain Caveman
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    68
    ahhh that must be it. b/c im not savvy in the ways of ActionScript i've been relying on motion tweens and such. man i knew it! i'm not sure exactly how to translate the tweens to AS so if anyone would like to help/explain say 'aye' and i'll post my .fla

    =]
    and then I found 5 dollars

  14. #14
    Member ghost_flash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    98

    Re: framerate

    Originally posted by ToddBeaz
    whats a good framerate to use?
    31
    Don't alien-ate us mac users.

    Or

    61.

    Don't try 121...
    It only goes to 120.

    :O)

  15. #15
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    well if you want to learn actionscript, this may be the transition you need. You learn by doing things you haven't, you will learn from your mistakes, and there is always somebody in one of the help threads that can give further advice.
    L. Jones
    www.urbansory.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center