dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: a little sound advice

  1. #1
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356

    a little sound advice

    Hey,
    check out my page, www.psiconmedia.com

    I am having a minor problem with "streaming" sound.. The sound is set to stream the first time music on/off is clicked. Each subsequent time, it should load from memory, as the streamed sound is loaded into a sound object.

    Problem is, seems like the sound waits until it is completely loaded before it plays... the sound file is only 143kb, and i'm on cable.. Seems like it should stream..

    anyway, the FLA is here:
    http://www.psiconmedia.com/flaFiles/psiconX.fla

    the script is actually on the music on/off button

    the music file is here:
    http://www.psiconmedia.com/audio/techno.mp3

    thanks,
    -myk

  2. #2
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    bumpedy bump..

  3. #3
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    just keepin' it where i can see it...

    anybody?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    27

    looks fine to me

    I went straight to the site, and I clicked on the music on button.
    The sound played after about 1/4 second, and was fine. The "loading music" was still flashing so I assumed it was still in the process of loading the music into memory. After about 5 secs, the "loading" message disappeared.

    I did not see any problems with your audio. Perhaps when you were testing you had other apps running in the background that would disrupt your global audio??

  5. #5
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    go figure.....
    couple of others wanna give it a try and see if you get similar results?

    thanks,
    -myk

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Similar for me on my cable connection, but let me check it on my old 56k dial-up.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    On the 56k, it's streaming but with breaks until the sound is fully loaded. Then it plays without breaks.

  8. #8
    -Iron Myk- mykrob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    1,356
    hey, oldnewb.
    i'll take our answer as the official word and mark this one resolved, and just not worry about it.....
    Long as it still says music loading, guess it really doesnt matter.

    Thanks,
    -myk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center