dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CD application for Mac & PC (..again.. I know..)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19

    CD application for Mac & PC (..again.. I know..)

    Hi All,

    I have checked the other threads on this subject, but I think I'm doing something slightly wrong with the Mac version...

    ..similar scenario as normal, creating a m'ktng CD Rom to run on both the PC and the Mac - (for Macs running OS X). Using Flash MX, and creating the movie on the PC.

    The windows version works fine, and I can open PDF files with a simple :

    on (release) {
    fscommand("exec", "data.bat");
    }

    The data.pdf and data.bat are both in the fscommand folder, and the pdf opens ok..

    When it came to the hqx projector, I changed the code, and hoped to use :

    on (release) {
    fscommand("exec", "/hgst/fscommand/data.pdf");
    }

    Where hgst was the volume name of the CD, and of course the data.pdf is still in the fscommand folder.

    Problem is it doesn't launch the PDF in OS X .. the movie plays fine, just the buttons that don't work...

    My initial thought is that the path is all wrong... especially as when stuffit expands the hqx file, the player is now on the desktop .. ie not running off the CD now ... is this where I am going wrong ?

    thanks ade

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    You can't uses path's with the EXEC command in Flash MX, regardless of the platform you're running on. You'll probably have to put the command to open the PDF file in AppleScript and EXEC the script from Flash on the Mac.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19
    thanks ... am slowly getting there me thinks..

    I wrote some actionscript and tested it on the Mac, and it opens the pdf from the CD... basically just :

    tell application "Finder"
    activate
    open "hgst:fscommand:data.pdf"
    end tell

    I then saved this as an application called install

    When I copied this application onto a Windows formatted floppy - I then get two files ._install and install

    I guess I need both of these files ?

    and is it true that under a Mac this/these files and the pdf doc need to be in the same directory as the movie as opposed to the fscommand folder ?

    thanks if anyone knows the answer.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19
    ok i think i'm learning more here ...

    it seems the mac understands PC files better than the PC understands Mac files (this to do with the PC Exchange programme ?)

    so the plan was, create the app in flash on the PC ... then copy all the files onto a folder on the Mac... I can then write the Mac apps to launch the pdf files in their native environment .... then using Toast (which i think we have a copy of) .. burn the CD from the Mac..

    This way the files should be all ok.... I think...

    Am I right in my thinking, or barking up the wrong tree ?

    thanks

    ade

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    116

    Passing variables to AppleScript

    Based on the previous example is there any way to pass a variable to the AppleScript via the FSCommand to have one AppleScript to open many different PDF's based on the variable.

  6. #6
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    You can't pass anything out using the EXEC FSCommand except the name of the file you want to run so the easiest solution is to create a separate applescript for each file you want to open.

  7. #7
    one eyed queenslander big daddy bruce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Brisbane QLD
    Posts
    134
    Hi guys

    Im pretty new at making CDRoms for both PC and MAC.

    Will the following work...

    1. I build the movie on my pc.
    2. Save as windows projector
    3. save as mac projector
    4. create .inf to autorun the pc projector

    BUT...can I get it to autorun the mac projector???
    Cheers mate

    Big daddy

    http://www.bluesquaremedia.com.au

  8. #8
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    The "autoplay" feature on Mac is handled by QuickTime and you can choose the file you want to autostart (your projector) from the settings in Mac volume of Toast window.

    Be sure to check out the Standalone and Applications Forum FAQ
    http://www.flashkit.com/board/showth...hreadid=500485

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center