A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Help please. Invoicing quesiton.

Help please. Invoicing quesiton.

I'm new to the free lancing business and needed some help writing out an invoice. I've done a couple of jobs already and a friend pointed out to me that I forgot to charge tax. So that's one thing I'm already missing. Is there anything else?

Also, for this invoice I was planning to include a letter explaining to the client (whom I've done work for recently) about my mistake of not including tax. Is this something the client will understand? Or am I going about this the wrong way?

Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

assuming you did web design and are in the US, web design is a service, not a product, therefore you dont need to charge sales tax. you will need to file income tax each year, but that doesnt involve the client .
    Bill Erickson: resume | portfolio
    1 | 2 | 3 | 4
    Great Designs for $100

Thanks mg315,
    Yes it is web design. What if i'm handing them the actual source files? Is that considered a product? Or anything of similar nature for that matter. Thanks again.

a few months ago i started to wonder if i needed to charge sales tax for design work, because i was working at a print shop and we added sales tax to all of the print work we sold. i talked to my dad who is a tax attorney and he told me design and other related intellectual property doesnt require sales tax, but an actual product such as 1000 business cards do. If you design something you dont charge sales tax for it, but if you print it on paper and sell them a set amount of paper containing it, you add sales tax to it. as source files are not really a product, more of a collection of intellectual property, i dont believe you would need to charge sales tax - but i will talk to my dad again when i have the chance. he's in london right now so i won't be able to talk with him for a few days.