A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: heres a challange

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    226

    heres a challange

    i have a flash "scroll pane" componet loading a movie clip named "mainbox"

    i have a row of buttons that when pressed i need that movie clip to goto another frame and stop

    on (press) {
    _root.box.mainbox.gotoAndStop(2)
    }

    that code does not work

    btw "box" is the instance name of the scroll pane

    what do i do different to thus code to get the script to know that the movie clip is inside thus box?


    oh wow, i also just ran into this problem..... when loading txt files into the same movie clip useing

    loadVariablesNum("news.txt", 0);
    it will not work, any ideas would be great!
    Last edited by ikandi-mac; 09-04-2003 at 05:29 AM.
    life aint easy, stop whinen'
    Oldnewbi - if you quit this forum needs to be shut down!, its posintless without you!

  2. #2
    _global.chosenson="flash"; chosenson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    BIG APPLE
    Posts
    716
    Ok first I will address the second item. Here is a good example of loading text files.

    I made this yesterday for another person needing help with loading text files.


    for this problem, first thing i notice is the lack of the semicolon at the end of the goto action
    on (press) {
    _root.box.mainbox.gotoAndStop(2);
    }

    If this is just a post oversight then could you post your fla. or a small fla example to see
    If you have a question, need some help, email me:chosenson

    It's always the simplest things that escape the complex mind!

    always be just

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,749
    The content of the scrollpane isn't direct in "box", you need to use the getScrollContent method:

    eg:

    var stuff = box.getScrollContent();
    stuff.gotoAndStop(2);

    Or more concisely:
    box.getScrollContent().gotoAndStop(2);

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    226
    AlsoGaiusCoffey, thanks, that makes it work great, had to modify it a lil bit, but now it works great.... I also think i can use that same type of script to load my txt, i will have to find out more about it, and post later on to see if it fully works
    life aint easy, stop whinen'
    Oldnewbi - if you quit this forum needs to be shut down!, its posintless without you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center