A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Smooth Scene Transitions?

Smooth Scene Transitions?

Okay, I'm a newb - but I know there is an easy fix to this with a few lines of actionscript.

Check out MatthewStaver.com Beta Site- click 'Enter'.

The Flash movie pops up and I have each of the major sections in their own respective scenes. This is basically just a gallery that dynamically loads the pictures from the images directory (they're not really up yet, just a placeholder for now).

So, if you click around, you'll see that there is NO smooth transition from scene to scene. It just starts on frame 1 of the scene selected. In each scene, for about the last 50 frames or so, I have a closing animation to make a smooth transition to the next scene selected (the thumbnails fade and the title drops away). But these last 50 frames of each scene are getting ignored as the movie goes directly to the next scene that was clicked.

My question is: When a menu button is selected, how do I make it to where the rest of that current scene plays out and THEN it goes to the next scene of the one that is selected?

If I could get it to do that, everything would go smoothly between scenes. Also, I'm not really good with actionscripting so if you could help, I'd REALLY appreciate it.

After getting this issue solved, all I will need is to put up the pics and then I'm done!
    Last edited by guitarwez; 09-10-2003 at 10:16 PM.

Minion of Gozer The Destructor lemurofdoom's Avatar
    what does all your code look like now? how is your file set up?

basically i woudl do it like this: what your button should do is make the current scene go to the beginning of the part where it fades out, and also it needs to set a variable to the name of the scene to go to after the fading happens. and on the last frame of every scene, a frame action should tell it to play whatever scene was set in the variable.. i'd be more specific with actual code but i dont know how you have everything set up...