dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Search Application on a CD-Rom

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    72

    Search Application on a CD-Rom

    Hi, could someone please be kind enough to set me in the right direction? I have to produce a CD-Rom based application that can search resources by various criteria (some kind of wizard) that will also be on the CD. I assume some kind of database would be required...

    The CD is to contain resouces relating to teaching that in turn will have lots of files associated with the initial document.

    If anyone can give me a push in the right direction I would be extremely grateful.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    If you want to build the search utility in Flash you could go with a full database and just about any third party tool from the list below can help you with that. If you want to avoid having your user install a database, while still getting "database like" search capabilities, you can try SWF Studio and the Catalog plugin. The catalog plugin allows you to use a simple tab delimited file as your database and search it using simple queries.

    SWF Studio http://www.northcode.com
    Flash Studio http://www.multidmedia.com
    Flash 'N Pack http://www.flashnpack.com
    FlashAnts http://www.flashants.com
    Jugglor http://www.***********.com
    LPFlashEX http://www.logicplus.com.hk
    mProjector http://www.binarynoise.com
    SWFKit http://www.swfkit.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    72
    i have the older version of SWF Studio, will the plugin work for that or does it only work on the latest version?

  4. #4
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976
    Download a copy of Flash Studio PRO - you can find some examples of Databases (and Source Code) at http://www.multidmedia.com/downloads and also at http://www.mdmforum.com/exchange

    I hope this helps!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    72
    Yes. Thanks. It looks like this will do just the job and more, make me look like i know what i'm doing and hopefully save the day.

    Thanks for all help received.

  6. #6
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Depends on what version of SWF Studio you have. If it's V1, the plugin won't work. If you have any release of V2 the plugin will work. If you have any release of V2, you can get the latest release of V2 for free. If you have V1, you can upgrade to V2 for $49.

    We'll be uploading some examples that show how fast and easy the catalog plugin is to use, it's database functionality without the weight of a database.

    Of course, we have the ADO plugin for full database support too. It works with MS Access, SQL Server, MySQL and any other database that comes with an OLEDB/ADO provider.

    There are some new components coming that will GREATLY simplify working with SWF Studio plugins too
    Last edited by Northcode; 09-25-2003 at 12:57 PM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    72
    I shall keep an eye out for these updates.

    One other question I do have though is this, how easy is it to take a result from a database query and use it to jump to another part of your movie or load up another movie? Basically make a result into a button? Is that possible?

  8. #8
    Tim (Super Moderator) Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766
    Sure.. it's not hard at all. If you have the info that redirects you to the scene, label or frame in your movie (from the database, or anywhere else) you can do something like this...

    // assign your button's OnRelease event to use
    // a global variable as the destination for the
    // gotoAndPlay call

    mybutton.OnRelease = function() {
    gotoAndPlay(_level0.target);
    }

    // do database lookup and assign results to _level0.target
    // any change to _level0.target is immediately reflected
    // (and available for use) in the button's OnRelease

    _level0.target = "label99";

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    72
    You are a life saver!

    Thank you very much for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center