dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Weird .gif problems with 3DFA...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    100

    Weird .gif problems with 3DFA...

    Hey everyone,

    I was trying to make a website using .gif image files, well...this is what I got when I exported it.


    What it looks in 3DFA (and what it's suppost to look like)...
    http://members.lycos.co.uk/thematrixd/Problem_1.jpg


    What it looks like exported...
    http://members.lycos.co.uk/thematrixd/Problem_2.jpg


    Any thoughts on what I should do? I have the latest edition of 3DFA.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    The Dryer
    Posts
    61
    I'm not completely sure... but maybe you have image compression on too high in the export options? Try lowering the image compression...

  3. #3
    Senior Member zoranvedek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Wagoner OK
    Posts
    892
    .......looks like a compression issue to me too. If it's only doing it with gif files(& turning off compressions doesn't help), try converting your images to bmp, and then importing them.


    -J

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    100
    It can't be a compression problem, since I have all compression off (including in the Advanced options). Plus, I made a "grid" in the background (using 3DFA) which does not show.

    And if I do convert the images to .bmp and put on transparency, there will be white, nasty edges around each button. That's why I made them .gif's in the first place.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    The Dryer
    Posts
    61
    you could try png?

    oh btw it could be a bug take the example and everything and send it to support@3dfa.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member zoranvedek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Wagoner OK
    Posts
    892
    Send me the images(lucky13thday@aol.com), I'll see what I can do. If nothing else I can get them to bitmaps without the white edges...........

    -J

  7. #7
    A Senior Newbie - How Odd ForumNewbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    590
    I had similar problems from time to time with .jpg's that weren't as sharp after export and 'wobbled' around. I found that changing the 'Quality' setting on the animation to 'Best' helped.

    Just a thought.

    Ian.
    Please note that my domain has changed to http://www.morganmultinational.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    100
    Originally posted by ForumNewbie
    I had similar problems from time to time with .jpg's that weren't as sharp after export and 'wobbled' around. I found that changing the 'Quality' setting on the animation to 'Best' helped.

    Just a thought.

    Ian.
    I have the movie set on "Best" as well.


    Originally posted by zoranvedek
    Send me the images(lucky13thday@aol.com), I'll see what I can do. If nothing else I can get them to bitmaps without the white edges...........

    -J
    E-mail sent.

  9. #9
    Senior Member zoranvedek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Wagoner OK
    Posts
    892
    After looking at the original images, it appears that you have a very slight gradient(gradients and GIFs don't mix), so when compressed 3dfa is not exactly sure where to draw the border between the 2 colors of grey and appears to be dividing it into 3 distinct areas(take a jpeg that appears to be a solid color and convert it to a 4 bit GIF with no diffusion and you will get similiar results), I changed them all to bitmaps without using antialiasing, and they exported fine as long as compression was off.


    Bitmaps are in you email........

    -J

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center