A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: _alpha fade using button command...version mx? help!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    5

    _alpha fade using button command...version mx? help!!

    I am trying to use telltarget (and yes I know its deprecated) to fade in and out movieclips by the press of a button. NOT Working. here is an example of code.

    on (release) {
    tellTarget ("_root.began") {
    if (alpha > 0) {
    alpha = alpha - increment;
    setProperty("_root.began", _alpha, "alpha");
    }
    }
    tellTarget ("_root.60's") {
    if (alpha < 100) {
    alpha = alpha + increment;
    setProperty("_root.60's", _alpha, "alpha");
    }
    }
    }

  2. #2
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    There shouldn't be quotations around that alpha in the setProperty, should there? It will work when you remove the quotations.

    Your whole code could be optimized to...

    Code:
    on(release){
    alpha=alpha-increment
    if(alpha>0){setProperty(_root.began,_alpha,alpha);}
    if(alpha<100){setProperty(_root.60's,_alpha,alpha);}
    }

    -hope this helps...


    -genesis f5 (genesis mx)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    A button action is a single action so:
    alpha = alpha - increment; means that if increment equals 1 and your variable 'alpha' was 100, it is now equal to 99. And that's it.
    You need a loop, that will remove 1 then 1 then 1 etc.. until the variable 'alpha' equals 0. Then you will get a 'fade out'. So you need to use:
    a 2 frames loop
    or an enterFrame clip event.
    The button only triggers the fading script.
    Make a simple search in this forum , you'll find more info.
    gparis

  4. #4
    Senior Member Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    lol, I completely forgot about the whole fade thing...

    gparis is right, however I just tried this for another thread on this subject like an hour ago and the code version locks up. And especially on faster machines, you need to put a delay within it, but that even fails. Your best bet is a masked alpha tween.

    Code:
    //SET DESIRED DELAY
    userdelay=.5
    //-----------------
    n=new Date();
    
    for(currentalpha=100;currentalpha>1;currentalpha-=1){
    _root.yourclip._alpha=currentalpha}
    oldtime=n.getSeconds();
    while(n.getSeconds()<oldtime+userdelay){}
    }
    -hope this helps...


    -genesis f5 (genesis mx)
    Last edited by Genesis F5; 09-30-2003 at 12:04 AM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    5
    thanks for the help, but i had to go with something else. Time constraints suck. the project is due tomorrow.
    thanks anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center