A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Movie Unload problems!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    63

    Movie Unload problems!

    Alright - love being relatively new, but here goes. I'm having no problems loading an external flash file. BUT I'm having problems UNloading one imparticular. If you go to:

    http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/v.../sitetest.html

    You will see everything seems fine. When you click into an area say, Biography, you get the maincontent.swf picture showing up (w/ preloader on top) before the section loads in all the way. Here's the code I've used on the navigation:

    on (release) {
    _root.contents.unloadMovie ("http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/version2/flash/maincontent.swf");
    _root.contents.loadMovie ("http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/version2/flash/gallery.swf");
    }

    I attempt to unload the maincontent file 1st, then load the next one in. Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong?? I'm sure it's a really simple issue - but an issue nontheless. Thanks so much for any help you can give me!!

    Rick

    Click Here for the site

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    On the fifth floor.
    Posts
    1,202
    You do not need to unloadMovie, you should just write:
    [CODE]
    on (release) {
    _root.contents.loadMovie ("http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/version2/flash/gallery.swf");
    }
    [/CODE

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    63
    Hmm. That's what I originally had ... and I began getting this issue. I added the unload line hoping it would take care of it - but to no avail.

    When you hit another category I should not see the big picture before the other parts load in, make sense?

    (sigh)

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    17
    It's hard to tell exactly what's going on without seeing the code, but what sergwiz suggested is correct.

    If the maincontent.swf is in _root.contents, then when you load gallery.swf, you should not see the maincontent.swf flash there. Is there something that looks like the maincontent.swf sitting underneath? When you click "home," you see the content blink, so there must be something underneath.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    63
    Ahh!! It's driving me nuts.

    I knew sergwiz was right - I had what he mentioned in there before trying the unload line.

    "maincontents.swf" is not on the main movies' timeline (_root.contents). It's being called externally like the other movies. I'm looking everywhere for it sitting underneath, but it's not. It's not in the individual libraries or anything.

    When you click any of the buttons you get the blink of the maincontent - shouldn't be happening at all. So either there's an unload issue or every movie has some form of the maincontent underneath it. Know what I mean? (which I'm looking and see nothing)

    Here's a directory with the majority of files in there.

    http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/v...2/flash/files/

    If anyone feels like downloading and scoping it out - please do - I'm missing something here. Grrrr..

    I appreciate the help!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    17
    Rick,

    Sorry for the late response. I've been away.

    Just downloaded your files to see if I could figure something out, and what I noticed is you have loaded maincontent.swf into 2 locations: _root.contents AND _root.mainPicload.

    So when you load maincontent.swf, you see _root.mainPicload.maincontent.swf already sitting there, hence it flashes. What I did to solve it was to change the actions on the homePic layer from:

    loadMovie("http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/version2/flash/maincontent.swf","mainPicload");

    to

    loadMovie("http://www.rickhoeye.com/musicsite/version2/flash/maincontent.swf","contents");

    Looks like you did it on purpose, which makes me think I'm answering a question you already knew. Your code looks like it is far from someone "new."

    Is that what you asked?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center