A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: preloader

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    120

    preloader

    I'm using a percentage preloader for a 663 KB site. Here is the action code:

    perc = Math.round((_parent.getBytesLoaded()/_parent.getBytesTotal())*100);
    xperc = perc/100;
    barlength = 200;
    if ((perc == 100) and (bar._width == barlength)) {
    _parent.gotoAndPlay(2);
    } else {
    nperc = perc+"%";
    bar._width = barlength*xperc;
    bar._x = -100+(bar._width/2);
    }


    I got this off of another board. But does this actually load up the file??? I'm testing it within Flash and it still takes 4-EVER with the 56K test. (about 1 1/2 mins.) HELP !!!

    TIA
    Brandy

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    An actual link would be better! I could test it for you.

    As for the code, I've seen simpler if not better ones!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    120
    link is www.cpanerds.com

    when i go to it i dont even see the preloader. even after i cleared out temp and cookies.
    Brandy

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Takes over 2 1/2 minutes on my old 56k dial-up connected at 46kps, and around 8 seconds on my cable connection, but your movie is streaming in both cases and IMHO, not preloaded.
    Try this preloader...

    http://www.kirupa.com/developer/mx/p...epreloader.htm

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    120
    I copied the new preloader into the first 2 frames of my movie and I'm getting the same results.... I'm way above the redline on the streaming page... and the preloader bar never shows up until it reaches the 80% mark....
    Brandy

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Hadn't noticed you are actually at least using components, if not linked on the first frame attached movie clips and/or sounds, and/or embedding fonts.
    You'll have to (that is if you want to...) use this workaround preloader only movie...

    http://board.flashkit.com/board/show...hreadid=375161

    I'll even bump up that thread for you, it's been a while...

  7. #7
    Senior Member cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,449
    http://can_info_guide.tripod.com/
    components, preloader
    - The right of the People to create Flash movies shall not be infringed. -

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    120
    I modified the file you said to use and ran it and it runs good. Almost too fast you can only see the preloader for 2 seconds if that... anyway. So do I use this file as my index file now since it loads the movie ?? This is new to me so be nice !!!

    :-)
    Brandy

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    You haven't uploaded it on your site yet though, right?

    Don't know how you've called that file, but just use that file's name in your index.html rather than your old file's name. Hope you've cleared your original movie from your old preloaders, and that you uploaded that corrected movie to your site.

    Cancerinform... Still peddling those, hey?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center