dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: allocating memory on a PC

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    75

    allocating memory on a PC

    Its never happened before, but I got an error when opening an .fla about not enough memory and to allocate more. Google searches and the Macromedia web site only have info for MAC's. I'm on a PC. Can this allocation thing be done or do I have to (assuming) adjust file sizes and re-import them?

    My apologies to the mods if this has been posted before. I tried using the search button but it failed twice.

    Thanks all.
    Getting better...slowly but surely.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Detroit, MI, US
    Posts
    18
    1st option:

    Save your work and restart your PC to dump the memory cache completely.

    2nd option:

    Buy more memory.


  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    I'd say a corrupted Mac .fla, opened on a PC! Never saw that message but on a Mac.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    75
    I made the file from scatch myself. Worked with it for the better part of day. Saved and tested several times. Just after I closed Flash and tried to reopen it later, problems. Here's the full error:

    "there is not enough memory to open this scene. Your document is not damaged and may be safely saved.
    To increase available memory, close open documents or quit and use the Get Info command in the Finder to allocate more memory to flash"

    Get Info? Finder? The file actually opens, but all of my graphics aren't in the Library as they should be. When exported there are bright red boxes where missing graphics should be. The name of the original file and the graphic symbol are still in the Libray, but it says "Bitmap not loaded" when highlighted.

    Completly lost on whats happening.
    Getting better...slowly but surely.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    14,141
    Those are Mactintosh OS9 alerts. Looks like a problem with the program itself.
    gparis

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Looks like you're on a Mac. Haven't you ever allocated more memory to an application before. Use to do it all the time, when working with Avids... Can you try it?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    75
    I'm not on a Mac. I wasn't very far into the project so I'm going to try and start over.

    I know you can adjust memory settings in Photoshop, I thought Flash had a similar feature given the error. I guess not.
    Getting better...slowly but surely.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Would you have installed a Flash Mac version on a PC? Is that even possible?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    75
    I don't think so. I've been using it for several months now. Completed several projects. I certainly didn't order a MAC version!
    Getting better...slowly but surely.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    3
    i got the same message after i traced a very large picture of an apple and worked on it for about 2 hours until i ran out of ram, processor, hard space and oxygen in the room. after that it did not open the fla. i'm working on xp, on a windows-version of flash. and i wasn't able to save anything from that file, so i traced it again only smaller
    the crow

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12
    Did you resolve the problem. I just experienced the same thing on a PC with XP and a gig of ram.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    53
    Hi, was this ever solved? I have inherited a huge file but my specs are the same as yours XP, GB RAM. Opens OK but waiting 10secs for a mouse click...
    "Whether you believe you can or believe you can't, you are probably right"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center