A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Please Help Me!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53

    Please Help Me!

    I asked this question the other day but did not get the help I need. I am sure it was the right info but I do not understand.

    I have a movie called main.swf and it has a MC in the main timeline of the forth scene called musicMC. It loads another .swf file called sample.swf to the stage when you click a button inside the main.swf movie. Now I need a button inside the sample.swf movie to control the music MC inside the main.swf movie. I was told to do it like this:

    _root.musicMC.gotoAndStop("stop"); - not sure if this is correct

    _parent. - do I need this?

    Please help me understand this. It is driving me crazy! Thanks for your time and your help.
    Blazin1

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    _root.musicMC.gotoAndStop("stop");

    Should do it!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    It is still not working. Does it matter if the button in the loaded movie is inside an MC? It is inside another MC.
    Blazin1

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Attach your .fla.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    Here are the files (in two postings). I had to remove the sound as well because the file size was to big. I have text saying music playing and music stopped so you can tell if it is working or not.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Blazin1

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    i uploaded the files in one posting
    Blazin1

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    MX2004 format? Won't work for me! You'll have to save as MX.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    Sorry about that. I made the same basic files in MX. Here they are...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Blazin1

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Start by giving the instance name of "musicMC" to your musicMC on the stage.
    Then add this script to your button in the sample.fla...
    code:

    on (release) {
    _level0.musicMC.nextFrame();
    }



    Should work fine.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    It works perfect! Thank you.

    I had another question for you about this file:

    http://www.flashkit.com/movies/Sound...8331/index.php

    I want it maxed out at 100% right when it starts playing. Is it a pain or something fairly easy to do?

    Again thank you for all your help.
    Blazin1

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    It's a pain, but if you insist, I might have another look!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    53
    I would really appreciate it if you would look at it again. Either way thanks for your help.
    Blazin1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center