dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: how did they do this ?

  1. #1
    Japanese l337 TRJNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399

    how did they do this ?

    http://www.macromedia.com/

    that main promo swf for central, has a text-scroller that automatically scrolls by itself, how did they achieve this ? And if anyone knows of tutorials to do this or have coding or a fla., plz point the way ;p
    consultant / contractor / designer

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    You have many auto-scrolling tiker type .flas in the Tutorials & Movies sections here on FK. That said MM seems to have used a component, that may do this auto-scrolling by itself, or at some point is actionscripted to scroll, by moving the scrollbar's position.

  3. #3
    Japanese l337 TRJNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    hmmm ic ic, thnx for ur help I'll try emailing them.
    consultant / contractor / designer

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    e-mailing them?

  5. #5
    Japanese l337 TRJNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    I want to find out whether they just used a component and put in component parameters, or did they just add a textarea component scrollable with actionscript ?

    Your answer kinda helped, but Im trying to do that specifically like how MM did it in that promo, and chances are they made that in Flash MX 2004, so the old .fla's wouldnt really help with the new component inspector
    Last edited by TRJNET; 11-20-2003 at 05:00 PM.
    consultant / contractor / designer

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    I think they're using something more than a component here. You can get close to the effect by incrementing the vPosition of a textArea component, but the textArea seems to only move if it can move a full line at a time, whereas what they're showing can move part of a line, which makes it smoother. It's probably a custom scroll bar moving a symbol behind a mask.

  7. #7
    Senior Member asdfghjkl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    154
    I wonder how they did the install system, form Flash
    The nice thing about standards is that there are so many of them to chose from

  8. #8
    Spidey wants his icon back! Defyeler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    255
    Flash MX 2004 comes with a ticker component with scrollbars.. you can autoscroll in any directions or do crossfading instead of scrolling.
    Its never.. wow kool I like it, its always.. ok I made this.. how can it be better?

  9. #9
    Senior Member flashPlaya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    >>WESTSIDE<<
    Posts
    235
    Here there TRJNET,

    Here is a really cool componant, that scrolls really nice. Though a exturnal text file. http://www.kirupa.com/developer/mx/newsflasher.htm

    It has alot of functions


    ////FLASHPLAYER//

    MY SITE>>

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    75
    Can you send the commponent by email because the site is down for now and i relly want to try-it

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    Japanese l337 TRJNET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    399
    Originally posted by flashPlaya
    Here there TRJNET,

    Here is a really cool componant, that scrolls really nice. Though a exturnal text file. http://www.kirupa.com/developer/mx/newsflasher.htm

    It has alot of functions


    Yeah I've seen that before, kirupa is a great resource site like fk, but yeah I ended up making a custom ticker, and then i didnt end up using it because my design style changed.
    consultant / contractor / designer

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    75
    File not found!
    We are currently migrating to a new server and are trouble shooting issues.
    Please be patient while we troubleshoot these issues and bring back portions of the old site

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center