A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Using setMedia And Getting It To Work!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30

    Using setMedia And Getting It To Work!

    Hi Everyone,

    I have a movie that has three buttons, when a button is pressed I want it to change the flv video in the MediaDisplay, I have tried using the following but it will not work:-

    on(Press){
    myMedia.setMedia("http://www.x.com/x.flv", "FLV");
    }

    Can anyone help??

    Cheers

    Carl

  2. #2
    Maya * ActionScript Addict DangerAhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    299
    1. the path to the .flv file MUST be relative to the location of the Flash file that the media component is in. NOT the HTML file.

    so if you have a folder for Flash and one for Flv

    then the file will be ../flv/video.flv not flv/video.flv

    2. also, if you're using Domain-based links (beginning with http, you must add the allowDomain paramater in the HTML around the swf so it will allow http: absolute references.
    Geordie Martinez
    www.citizenparanoid.com | email

  3. #3
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    Howdy,

    I am glad you brought this up. I am running into the same problem.

    Mine works fine locally but when I put it on the web it doesnt work at all.

    I have tried using cbruiners method and also the Netconnection method to no avail.

    Is there something special I need to do to FLV files to make them work?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30

    Working Code...

    Hi Guys,

    This is the code I used and works just fine

    on (release) {
    setProperty(myMedia, _visible, true);
    myMedia.setMedia("../flv/zolanorwich.flv", "FLV");
    myMedia.play(1);
    prodetails.text = "My footballing hero, Zola, perhaps the greatest technical goal ever!";
    }

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Guys,

    To go further, checkout www.cbruiners.com and click on the Enter Wide Band Site, now click on either of the 2 tabs above the sq box and you'll see some streaming video (Zola and Martin Luther King).

    Now try click on the other one once one has loaded and you'll notice that sometimes the video gets caught, basically you cannot change the video being displayed.

    I have tried many methods to fix this, but my conclusion is that this is an internal fault of Flash's video handling.

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  6. #6
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    Thanks for the input cbruiners.

    I still cant get mine to work online. I tried looking at your wide band site but it never loaded. Could you answer a few questions for me?


    1.) What kind of server are you using? I am guessing that you are using a Windows server because you use ASP.

    2.) Are there any special permissions or server settings that you had to do to make it work?

    3.) Did you use the "allowDomain paramater in the HTML" like Danger Ahead mentioned?

    4.) Just so I am positive, "myMedia" is the instance name of your Media Display Component or your Media Controller component?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    1.) What kind of server are you using? I am guessing that you are using a Windows server because you use ASP.

    Windows 2000 Server (not advanced)

    2.) Are there any special permissions or server settings that you had to do to make it work?

    Nope.

    3.) Did you use the "allowDomain paramater in the HTML" like Danger Ahead mentioned?

    Nope

    4.) Just so I am positive, "myMedia" is the instance name of your Media Display Component or your Media Controller component?

    Yep.

    I'm guessing you knew the above already, please try and view the Wide Band Width Site Again, every now and then the server messes up!

    If you like post up your fla file and i'll have a look if u want.

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

    P.S The Wide Band Width site isnt as complete as the Low Band Width Site.

  8. #8
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    Thanks for the answers. This is driving me insane.


    Your site worked this time. Looks good. Works perfectly. I will put an FLA up soon.

  9. #9
    Maya * ActionScript Addict DangerAhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    299

    video

    Justaflo,

    I dig your site. You have a keen eye.

    Did you notice that the path to your .FLV video is always relative to the .SWF that's playing it?
    Geordie Martinez
    www.citizenparanoid.com | email

  10. #10
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    Thanks Danger for replying to both threads. All of my files are in the same folder.

    I have attached the .FLA. It seems so simple I dont know what could be going wrong.

    download .fla


    Thanks for the complements on our site too.
    Last edited by juxtaflo; 02-23-2004 at 02:11 PM.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Guys,

    Juxoflo, download this Fla file (your orginal) and the video flv file from my web site (http://www.cbruiners.com/flash/flv/zolanorwich.flv), place in the same directory and test inside Flash (some reason it screws up web your export the movie to swf format and try and test it!

    Yep I have to agree, Juxoflo, your web site is pretty dame impressive. I like your work.

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  12. #12
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    I downloaded your .flv and put it online. Again, it worked on my machine but not online.

    Here is the link:
    http://www.juxtaflo.com/video/

    Did you attach a new version of my .FLA too? If so, I dont see it.


    Thanks

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Sorry, the fla url (thought it would upload via this site).

    http://www.cbruiners.com/flash/video_test.fla

    Remember place them in same directory.

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Jaxoflo,

    I've got an idea, send me your swf file, with one of the vid clips pointing at that zola (flv file) (same directory), I'll upload it to my web server and see what happens.

    Cheers

    Carl

  15. #15
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    I downloaded the file you just posted. It didnt work.


    I uploaded my newest test file. you can get it here: http://www.juxtaflo.com/video_test.fla


    I am interested to see what happens on your server. I cant think of any other reason why this would be happening.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Juxoflo,

    http://www.cbruiners.com/flash/flv/jux.htm

    It works fine, check it out!

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Guys,

    Also the flv loads alot quicker through your setup, hmmmmmmmmm... I still think theres to many bugs in Flashs Video handling.

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  18. #18
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    Wow! Thanks. So there must be an issue with my server.

    I am not crazy!!

    OK. I guess now I have to figure out the problem with the server.


    Thanks a lot for all of your help. I really appreciate it.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    30
    Hi Juxoflo,

    Just a quick question list out your server details, a few years back I used to do a bit of network administration (NT4).

    Cheers

    Carl
    [::TILL THE END::]

  20. #20
    default user juxtaflo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    302
    I know what it is now. I need to add the .flv MIME type to the server.


    Now I cant find what the MIME type is. Macromedia has one link to the info but it is a dead link. I will have to call them I guess.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center